Skip to main content

Library Re-opening

UCC Library is committed to reopening both Boole and Brookfield libraries as soon as it is safe to do so: the safety of library users and staff is the chief guiding principle. Read more about our plans and schedule for re-opening our Libraries .

Ethna Byrne Costigan Collection: Home

About the Collection

Collection Ref.:             IE BL/AR/BC
Title:                            Ethna Byrne Costigan Collection
Dates:                           1948 - [1963]
Level of description:    Item
Extent:                          12 items
 
Administrative History:
IE BL/AR/BC is part of the Byrne Costigan material held in UCC Library. The material was found during the re-cataloguing of the book collection deposited in UCC Library and collection auditing during 2011-2017. The Byrne Costigan library is held in UCC library’s Special Collections.
 
Biographical History:

Ethna Byrne Costigan (1904-1991) was Professor of Romance Languages in University College Cork from 1939 to 1969.  Born in Dublin, she spent some of her childhood with relatives in Italy.  She was a graduate of UCD gaining her BA and MA from there, and went to the Sorbonne for her PhD.  She was appointed Professor of Romance Languages following the retirement of Professor Mary Ryan.  She published many academic works during the course of her career, and during her retirement, published a memoir Ethna Mary Twice (1989) (X 828.9 BYRN)

With her associate, Dr. Piero Calì, she founded the Dante Alighieri Society in Cork, of which she served as president from 1956-1969.  On retirement, she lectured part-time on Italian philology and medieval texts at Trinity College, Dublin. She served on the Irish national committee of UNESCO, and was twice selected to represent Ireland at the biennial conference in Paris.  She also served as honorary secretary of the Celtic Congress.  In recognition of her work in promoting Italian language and culture in Ireland the Italian government made her a grand official (grand’ ufficiale) of the Italian Order of Merit in 1960.

Reference Source: Dictionary of Irish Biography (Cambridge University Press and Royal Irish Academy).
 

Content:

The material is mostly academic in nature, in French and English.  There is also a critique [by] Mary Ryan amongst the papers.  It is described in date order under the years it has been accessioned to UCC Library Archives Service.

Access & Use

Opening Hours: 10:00 - 12:45 Monday to Friday

Access to archival collections is by prior appointment, giving at least one week's notice in advance, by completing this online form

Email:  specialcollectionsarchives@ucc.ie

Finding Aid: Item descriptions (see separate tab above, next to 'Home' tab)

Additional Collection Information

Language: English and French

Copyright: UCC Library

Collection Image

  Ethna Byrne Costigan Collection