Skip to Main Content

Harold Pinter/Brian Abbott Correspondence: Home

About the Collection

Collection Ref.:             IE BL/L/BA
Title:                            Harold Pinter/Brian Abbott Correspondence
Dates:                           1998 -2003
Level of description:    Item
Extent:                          6 items
 
Administrative History:
IE BL/L/AB comprises of correspondence between Brian Abbott, an Irish based poet and the playwright Harold Pinter. Abbott initially contacted Pinter in response to his participation in a TV programme criticizing the second Iraq war. They were donated to UCC in 2009 by Brian Abbott.
 
Biographacial History:
Brian Abbott is an Irish-based poet. Harold Pinter CH CBE (1930 -2008) was a British playwright, screenwriter, director and actor. A Nobel Prize winner, Pinter was one of the most influential modern British dramatists with a writing career that spanned more than 50 years. (Reference source: Wikipedia Harold Pinter) 

Content: 

Includes copy of a letter from Abbott to then Prime Minister Tony Blair and a number of poems he wrote in response to the conflict in Iraq. Pinter encloses two poems of his own in his reply to Abbott.

Access & Use

Access: Apply via online Request Form during the opening times of Special Collections and Archives

Email:  specialcollectionsarchives@ucc.ie 

Finding Aid: Item descriptions (see separate tab above, next to 'Home' tab)

Additional Collection Information

Language: English

Copyright: UCC Library (in the main). Publications may rest with original copyright holder, please check with Archivist.

Collection Image

 Material from the Harold Pinter/Brian Abbott Correspondence