Skip to main content

UCC Library now Re-opened.

Both Boole and Brookfield BHSL Libraries have re-opened with the safety of Library users and staff as our chief guiding principle.

Please see our policies and important changes regarding re-opening here

Peadar Ó Dubhda Collection: Home

About the Collection

Collection Ref.:             IE BL/SC/POD
Title:                            Peadar Ó Dubhda Collection
Dates:                           1945 - [1968]
Level of description:    Item
Extent:                          4 items
 
Administrative History:

IE BL/SC/POD is Peadar Ó Dubhda material held in UCC Library. The Collection consists of material removed from the Collection Ex Libris Ní Cheallacháin deposited in UCC Library by Cáit Ní Cheallacháin in November 1996. She was a grandniece of Ó Dubhda.

Biographical History: Peadar Ó Dubhda (1881 – 1971) was a teacher of Irish. He was born in Dundalk, Co. Louth in November 1881. He was educated in the local school until the age of 12 when he got his first job, delivering groceries for Messrs Leverett and Frye. He was self-taught in the Irish language and in music, mastering the violin, flute and piano. In 1899 he co-founded a branch of the Gaelic League in Dundalk. He became a múinteóir taistil (a travelling teacher) for the Gaelic League at £55 a year, travelling all over the country arranging classes. In 1914 he was examined by Pádraic Pearse in Connemara for a certificate to teach Irish, receiving only a temporary one for one year. In 1915, the Gaelic League recognising the work of Ó Dubhda and colleagues, held the first of many annual Árd Fheis in Omeath. In the 1930s he tried unsuccessfully to interest the Irish Catholic hierarchy in an Irish translation of the Douai Bible. He took on the work himself, completing it in 1953, presenting an illuminated manuscript of over 3,000 pages to the National Library. He died in Dundalk in May 1971.

{Information taken from, A Dictionary of Irish Biography by Henry Boylan, published by Gill and Macmillan Ltd. 1978 (71710866 X), from UCC Library, TR920 BOYL}.
 

Content: 

The material consists of 3 copybooks with handwritten English content by [Ó Dubhda], and a letter received by Ó Dubhda in 1945. They are described in date order.

Access & Use

Opening Hours: 10:00 - 12:45 Monday to Friday

Access to archival collections is by prior appointment, giving at least one week's notice in advance, by completing this online form

Email:  specialcollectionsarchives@ucc.ie

Finding Aid: Item descriptions (see separate tab above, next to 'Home' tab)

Additional Collection Information

Language: English

Copyright: UCC Library

Collection Image

  Items from the Peadar Ó Dubhda Collection