Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

UCC Library now Re-opened.

Both Boole and Brookfield BHSL Libraries have re-opened with the safety of Library users and staff as our chief guiding principle.

Please see our policies and important changes regarding re-opening here

Update from our Director of Library Services, Colette McKenna regarding Library Services During COVID Level 5 - Here

Philip P. Graves Collection: Home

About the Collection

Collection Ref.:             IE BL/PP/PG
Title:                            Philip P. Graves Collection
Dates:                           1941 -1944
Level of description:    Item
Extent:                          12 items
 
Administrative History:

IE BL/PP/PG is a collection of Philip P. Graves material held in UCC Library. The collection consists of material removed from a journal held in Special Collections, UCC Library, The Honourable Society of Cymmrodorian, for the encouragement of Literature, Science, and Art as connected with Wales, Vol. xlvi, entitled "The Friends of Griffith Jones, A Study in Educational Philanthropy", by W. Moses Williams (Professor of Education and Head of the Training Department, University College, Swansea), published in London by the Honourable Society of Cymmrodorian, London, 1939.

Biographical HistoryPhilip Perceval Graves (1876-1953) was a British journalist and writer. He was a member of the Graves family of Ballylickey Manor House, Co. Cork, Ireland, a prominent Anglo-Irish family, and the elder half-brother of the author Robert Graves. 

He worked as foreign correspondent for The Times newspaper in Constantinople pre-World War I. He served in the British army in the Middle East during World War I. He reported on the Irish War of Independence during 1919, and also worked as a foreign correspondent in India and the Balkans before returning to become editor of The Times. In 1921 he exposed The Protocols of the Elders of Zion as anti-Semitic plagiarism a series of articles in The Times.

His most monumental work was a 21-volume history of World War II. Graves received numerous international awards and titles, among which are French Légion d'honneur and Order of the Crown of Italy.

In his journeys, Philip Graves developed an interest in entomology and published articles in scientific journals. He was member of the Royal Irish Academy.

He retired in 1946 to Ballylickey Manor and dedicated himself mainly to zoological hobbies. Here he made a study of the Irish butterflies, being especially interested in the local sub-species. He restored Ballylickey House as a hotel, which was taken over by his son after his death. 

Source: Wikipedia entry: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Philip_Graves

Content: 

The Collection contains letters and invoices sent to Graves in London during 1941-1944.  It is listed in date order.

Access & Use

Email:  specialcollectionsarchives@ucc.ie

Finding Aid: Item descriptions (see separate tab above, next to 'Home' tab)

Additional Collection Information

Language: English

Copyright: UCC Library

Collection Image

Content from the Philip P. Graves Collection