Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

UCC Library now Re-opened.

Both Boole and Brookfield BHSL Libraries have re-opened with the safety of Library users and staff as our chief guiding principle.

Please see our policies and important changes regarding re-opening here

Update from our Director of Library Services, Colette McKenna regarding Library Services During COVID Level 5 - Here

Seán Ó Riordáin Collection: Home

About the Collection

Collection Ref.:             IE BL/L/SOR
Title:                            Seán Ó Riordáin Collection
Dates:                           [1949] - 1987
Level of description:    Item
Extent:                          18 items
 
Administrative History:
IE BL/L/SOR is Séan Ó Riordáin material held in UCC Library. The Collection consists of material removed from books in the Ó Riordáin library deposited in Special Collections, and from administrative files in Special Collections.

Biographical History: Séan Ó Riordáin was an Irish-language poet, born in Baile Mhúirne, Co. Cork on 3 December 1916 and died, aged 60, in Glanmire, Co. Cork, on 21 February 1977. As well as writing poetry, he wrote a column in The Irish Times during the latter years of his life in which he spoke vehemently about national affairs. A number of his poems have appeared in English translation. Ó Ríordáin's poems have enjoyed constant popularity, due in part to the exposure gained by the inclusion of his work in the standard Irish curriculum. 

Source: Wikepedia Seán Ó Riordáin

Content:  Letters to Ó Riordáin praising his works, material associated with a publication, and an exhibition on Ó Riordáin in 1987.

Access & Use

Email:  specialcollectionsarchives@ucc.ie

Finding Aid: Item descriptions (see separate tab above, next to 'Home' tab)

Additional Collection Information

Language: English and Irish 

Copyright: UCC Library

Collection Image

    Letters to Ó Riordáin