Skip to main content

Library Re-opening

UCC Library is committed to reopening both Boole and Brookfield libraries as soon as it is safe to do so: the safety of library users and staff is the chief guiding principle. Read more about our plans and schedule for re-opening our Libraries .

Please see our policies regarding re-opening here

The Sullivan Barry Collection: Home

About the Collection

Collection Ref.:              IE BL/PP/SB
Title:                             The Sullivan Barry Collection
Dates:                             1870 - 1898
Level of description:     Item
Extent:                           27 items
 
Administrative History:

IE/BL/PP/SB is the Sullivan Barry Collection held in UCC Library and donated by John and Patricia Barry in 2013.

Biographical History: These papers are named after the Sullivan and Barry families who wrote and received the documents preserved in the collection. They relate to the late nineteenth-century experience of emigration among Sullivan siblings and cousins, Mary Barry and Mary Conway. Though the amount of direct information about the extended family is limited, the father of the two main correspondents, Denis and Hanorah Sullivan, was widowed before their departure.

Content:

These papers consist of twenty-four letters and three miscellaneous items. The collection is listed in date order. The letters were written in the United States of America by Denis Sullivan (10 letters); Hanorah Sullivan (6); Mary Barry (2); Annie Sullivan (1); Nora Sullivan (1); Mary Conway (1); and Jeremiah Sullivan (1). The remaining two letters are unsigned. The three miscellaneous items – a receipt, a list of accounts and a prescription – were written in Ireland. The subject matter of the correspondence relates to economic and social history. Topics include emigration, employment in east coast and mid-west of the United States, Irish emigrant community, economic conditions for women and men, wages, severe weather, travel, religious belief, clothing, diet, agriculture, and literacy. The correspondents often comment on the considerable gaps of time between their letters. Within the Sullivan family, the spelling of different forenames is frequently similar. When quoting from specific letters, the descriptive list retains the colloquial spellings and changes to the wording as shown in the original document.

Access & Use

Opening Hours: 10:00 - 12:45 Monday to Friday

Access to archival collections is by prior appointment, giving at least one week's notice in advance, by completing this online form

Email:  specialcollectionsarchives@ucc.ie

Finding Aid: Descriptive list (see separate tab above, next to 'Home' tab)

Additional Collection Information

Language: English

Copyright: UCC Library

Collection Image

   The Sullivan Barry Collection (UCC Library)