Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

UCC Library now Re-opened.

Both Boole and Brookfield BHSL Libraries have re-opened with the safety of Library users and staff as our chief guiding principle.

Please see our policies and important changes regarding re-opening here

Update from our Director of Library Services, Colette McKenna regarding Library Services During COVID Level 5 - Here

Thomas Crofton Croker Collection: Home

About the Collection

Collection Ref.:             IE BL/SC/CC
Title:                            Thomas Crofton Croker Collection
Dates:                            1 May 1843
Level of description:    Item
Extent:                          1 item
 
Administrative History:
IE BL/SC/CC is a T. Crofton Croker letter held in UCC Library. This letter was donated to UCC in 1997 by Prof. Seán Ó CoileánRoinn na Nua-Gaeilge, UCC. Originally the letter was given to Professor John V. Kelleher (Harvard) by Henry ShattuckKelleher passed the letter on to Professor Ó Coileán at UCC.
 
Biographical History:
Born in Cork in 1798, he was an Irish antiquary whose collections of songs and legends formed a storehouse for writers of the Irish literary revival. From 1819 he worked as a clerk for the Admiralty. He died in London in 1854.
 

Content:
Handwritten letter from Thomas Crofton Croker, the Admiralty, to Sir William [Betham].

Access & Use

Email:  specialcollectionsarchives@ucc.ie

Finding Aid: Item description (see separate tab above, next to 'Home' tab)

Additional Collection Information

Language: English

Copyright: UCC Library

Collection Image

  Mss letter from Thomas C. Croker (1843)