It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The Cochrane Library is a collection of databases that contain high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making.
National licence sponsored by HRB, Ireland and R&D Office, NI
The Cochrane Library provides reliable information from other systematic review abstracts, technology assessments, economic evaluations and individual clinical trials.
PubMed is the free U.S. National Library of Medicine's (NLM®) database of biomedical citations and abstracts. PubMed provides access to bibliographic information that includes MEDLINE, and OLDMEDLINE (for pre-1966) and citations to articles that are out-of-scope (e.g., covering plate tectonics or astrophysics) from certain MEDLINE journals, primarily general science and general chemistry journals.
Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature, scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. Across all research fields - science, mathematics, engineering, technology, health and medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities — Scopus delivers the broadest overview of global, interdisciplinary scientific information.
BMJ Best Practice gives healthcare professionals fast and easy access to the latest information when making diagnosis and treatment decisions. UCC users can create a BMJ user account at https://bestpractice.bmj.com/registration using a campus networked pc. Then users can access the resource off campus using the personal account login credentials at https://bestpractice.bmj.com/login. This user account can also be used to log into the BMJ Best Practice App on mobile devices.
National licence sponsored by the Health Service Executive (HSE) National Health Library and Knowledge Service.
This resource allows the user to search the world’s leading scholarly journals, books and proceedings in the sciences, social sciences, and arts & humanities, as well as navigate the full citation network.
The Web of Science Core Collection covers the period from 1945 to present.
> All cited references for all publications are fully indexed and searchable.
> Search across all authors and all author affiliations.
> Track citation activity with Citation Alerts.
> See citation activity and trends graphically with Citation Report.
> Use Analyze Results to identify trends and publication patterns.
2 users licence.
The resource is an amalgamation of references to journal articles, book chapters, reports and other ‘grey literature’ relating to the midwifery profession, pregnancy, labour, birth, postnatal care, and neonatal care extending into the first year of life.
MedicinesComplete offers access to world leading drug resources. The full text titles subscribed to are: British National Formulary, British National Formulary for Children, Martindale, Palliative Care Formulary, Pharmaceutical Excipients and Stockley's Drug Interactions.
This resource offers access to more than 280 current, fully illustrated, step-by-step guidelines on clinical skills.
To access the resource
-> Scroll down the page to the section titled Login via Shibboleth.
-> Select University College Cork from the pull down list and click Go to Login
-> Enter your UCC email credentials.
PsycINFO is an abstract database that provides systematic coverage of the psychological literature and summaries dating back to the 1600s. This resource is renowned for abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books and dissertations. It is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioural science and mental health. It contains over 3 million records, with one of the highest DOI matching rates in the publishing industry. Journal coverage, which spans from the 1800s to the present, includes international material selected from around 2,500 periodicals in dozens of languages.
PsycINFO is published by the American Psychological Association and contains bibliographic citations, abstracts, cited references, and descriptive information across a wide variety of scholarly publications in the behavioural and social sciences.
Sociological Abstracts cover the international literature of sociology, social work, and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. It also includes the companion file, Social Services Abstracts.
Coverage: 1952 - current
Below are a selection of database tutorials and 'how to' videos.
This tutorial shows how to use the Advanced Search feature in Web of Science.
Accessing Electronic Resources
Information for UCC staff and students in relation to accessing electronic resources, including useful guides and terms and conditions of use, can be found on the Electronic Resources Subject Guide.
American journal of audiologyAddresses all aspects of clinical practice in audiology, including screening, assessment, & treatment techniques; prevention; professional issues; supervision; & adminstration.
Ear and hearingFrom the basic science of hearing and balance disorders to auditory electrophysiology to amplification and the psychological factors of hearing loss, Ear and Hearing covers all aspects of auditory and vestibular disorders.
01.01.1980 to Present in Journals@Ovid Ovid Full Text
Hearing, balance and communicationHearing, Balance and Communication provides an international scientific and clinical forum for professionals to present research developments and novel clinical data in the rapidly expanding and inter-related fields of hearing, balance and communication medicine. The journal has a particular emphasis on medical, therapeutic and rehabilitative topics.
International journal of audiologyThe International Journal of Audiology is a peer-reviewed medical journal covering research in audiology, including psychoacoustics, anatomy, physiology, cellular and molecular biology, genetics, neuroscience, speech and hearing sciences and rehabilitation devices.
01.01.2002 to Present in Taylor & Francis Medical Library
International journal of speech language pathologyInternational Journal of Speech-Language Pathology is an international journal which promotes discussion on a broad range of current clinical and theoretical issues. Submissions may include experimental, review and theoretical discussion papers, with studies from either quantitative and/or qualitative frameworks. Articles may relate to any area of child or adult communication or dysphagia, furthering knowledge on issues related to etiology, assessment, diagnosis, intervention, or theoretical frameworks.
01.02.1997 to Present in CINAHL Plus with Full Text
Trends in hearingTrends in Hearing (Trends) is a peer-reviewed open access journal which focusses on to publishing original research and reviews focusing on human hearing, hearing loss, hearing aids, auditory implants, and aural rehabilitation.