UCC Library is committed to reopening both Boole and Brookfield libraries as soon as it is safe to do so: the safety of library users and staff is the chief guiding principle. Read more about our plans and schedule for re-opening our Libraries .
BMJ Best Practice gives healthcare professionals fast and easy access to the latest information when making diagnosis and treatment decisions. Updated daily, it draws on the latest evidence-based research, guidelines and expert opinion to offer step-by-step guidance on diagnosis, prognosis, treatment and prevention.
National licence sponsored by the Health Service Executive (HSE) National Health Library and Knowledge Service.
New / Trial Databases
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
Including coverage of the COVID-19 outbreak, this database curates openly available content related to coronaviruses. It includes thousands of open-access articles from the world’s leading publishers, as well as current research from pre-print repositories such as arXiv, and will continue to grow and evolve as more is learned about the pandemic.
This resource is the world’s first global research repository to combine both human curation and AI to create a cross-disciplinary resource for everyone working on the COVID-19 pandemic and the SARS-CoV-2 virus.
This repository offers over 70,000 Open Access articles. With human input, overviews of research and recommendations from experts are created, and a way to share problems with other researchers to find novel ways forward from other disciplines.
The Ebook Central resource now incorporates a subscription to the Academic Complete titles package, which provides UCC Library with full text access to over 180,000 ebooks, across a broad range of subject areas.
UCC Library owns over 1,575 of the titles available on Ebook Central.
The Elsevier COVID-19 Healthcare Hub offers access to clinical tools and resources, the latest expert insights, guidance from the world’s health authorities and research resources to support healthcare professionals as they care for patients during the pandemic. The hub provides access to 123,000 publications and 238 medical journals.
JSTOR provides a comprehensive digital archive of important scholarly journals. It offers multidisciplinary and discipline-specific collections that include complete runs of journals as well as select monographs, transactions, and conference proceedings.
JSTOR has provided temporary access to 756 additional ejournals until 31 December 2020.
JSTOR has also provided temporary access to over 32,000 ebooks until 31 August 2020.
Access is available to the following collections: the Ireland Collection, the Arts and Sciences I to XII Collections, the Business III Collection, the Life Sciences Collection and the 19th Century British Pamphlets Collection.
Temporary access is available to the Arts and Sciences XIII to XV Collections and the Business IV Collection, as well as over 32,000 ebooks.
Oxford Handbooks Online is one of the most prestigious and successful strands of Oxford’s scholarly publishing, the Handbook series contains in-depth, high-level articles by scholars at the top of their field. UCC has 87 handbooks already purchased. This makes 958 new handbooks available to UCC users.
This trial provides access to the following Law eBook collections:
Oxford Reports on International Law, Max Planck Encyclopedias of International Law, Oxford Scholarly Authorities on International Law, Oxford Historical Treaties and Oxford International Organizations.
Oxford Scholarship Online offers access to 16,936 eBooks from the celebrated scholarly list of Oxford University Press covering subjects across the humanities, social sciences, sciences, medicine, and law.
Free access is available until 14 August 2020.
UCC subscribes to ten ebook titles, namely:
Agents and goals in evolution
Charles Dickens's Networks: Public Transport and the Novel
Dissemination and Implementation Research in Health: Translating Science to Practice
Economists at war: how a handful of economists helped win and lose the World Wars
Empires of the Senses: Bodily Encounters in Imperial India and the Philippines
Pre-Insolvency Proceedings: A Normative Foundation and Framework
Rhetoric and The Rule of Law: A Theory of Legal Reasoning
Satellite Remote Sensing and the Management of Natural Resources
Sovereign Debt: A Guide for Economists and Practitioners
Writing the Stage Coach Nation: Locality on the Move in Nineteenth-Century British Literature
Pharmacy Knowledge is a digital learning platform, with content on the platform based on textbooks published by the Pharmaceutical Press, as well commissioned content written by expert pharmacists in their fields.
preLights is a community initiative supported by The Company of Biologists. The site tracks landmark coronavirus studies throughout the ongoing pandemic. Preprints, non-peer reviewed Open Access scientific papers, enable researchers to share their data before journal publication.