Skip to Main Content

English: Theses

UCC Theses: Print Copies

Print copies of UCC Theses are stored in Closed Access in Special Collections in the basement of the Boole Library (Q-1):

  • Special Collections holds print copies of Masters theses from 1911-2012. To access print copies of Taught Masters theses since 2013 contact the relevant department.
  • Special Collections holds print copies of Research Masters / PhDs theses from 1939-2019. To access Research Masters / PhD theses since 2020 search on CORA.

Theses must be requested in advance. For further information see Special Collections & Archives Appointments Service. All print theses must be consulted in the library and cannot be borrowed.

Scanning, photocopying or photographing theses is not permitted without written permission from the author.

Note: The Call Number has either DP (PhD Thesis) or DM (Masters Thesis).

How Do I Find UCC Theses Through the Catalogue?

Search by Department:

  • Go to the UCC Library Catalogue.
  • Select 'Theses' under 'Search Options' on the left of the screen, or click here.
  • Search for the name of a department/school e.g. 'Department of Physiology' or search with keywords.
  • Browse this list of theses theses from specific departments.

Search by Keyword:

  • Go to the UCC Library Catalogue.
  • Enter the search term in the Keyword option.
  • On the results page click on 'Modify Search' and limit your search to Material Type: Theses 

Note: The Call Number has either DP (PhD Thesis) or DM (Masters Thesis). Some have a link to the full text through CORA:


Example of a PhD thesis showing author, title, year submitted, how it is available to access - in print and electronically on CORA.

 

UCC Theses: Electronic Copies

CORA is the central repository for electronic copies of UCC research postgraduate theses. While the aim is to provide full-text access, in certain circumstances theses may not have been provided by the graduate, or may be embargoed in part or in full. Click here to browse theses. 

Theses from Other Universities

Library Databases

Note that the Inter Library Loans service may be able to source theses from other libraries.

Free resources:

  • RIAN: Ireland's National Database of Research Papers. Browse by Publication to find theses with links to full text.
  • ETHOS (British Library): free web resource, aims to provide a 'single point of access' to theses produced by UK Higher Education institutions.
  • DART-Europe E-theses portal: free web-resource, provides links to full-text research theses from over 500 universities sourced from 28 European countries.
  • TROVE: Australia and New Zealand. Limit search by format ‘Thesis’.
  • Theses Canada: 1965 – to present.
  • NDLTD: Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations. Links to full text.