Celtic Studies: Scottish Gaelic & Welsh

The status of Scots as a language is founded on a number of criteria. Historically, its vocabulary and grammar diverged sufficiently from southern English and performed a wide enough range of social functions for Scots to be considered a fully-fledged language.

contains a collection of information, vocabulary, grammar and other details of the Celtic languages which is available on this site, and elsewhere.

An attempt to collect as many possible early and medieval texts produced in the "Celtic" countries, or on Celtic themes

Explore the catalogue and digital resources

The Scottish Corpora project has created large electronic corpora of written and spoken texts for the languages of Scotland. The Scottish Corpus of Texts & Speech (SCOTS) has been online since November 2004, and, after a number of updates and additions, has reached a total of nearly 4.6 million words of text, with audio recordings to accompany many of the spoken texts.

The National Library of Scotland's online collection of nearly 1,800 broadsides lets you see for yourself what 'the word on the street' was in Scotland between 1650 and 1910. Crime, politics, romance, emigration, humour, tragedy, royalty and superstitions - all these and more are here.

@csanaceltic promotes cross-disciplinary research & discussion of Celtic cultures medieval & modern.

@CelticGaelic. Ceiltis is Gàidhlig/ Celtic & Gaelic Oilthigh Ghlaschu/ University of Glasgow.

@BBCRnG. Naidheachdan, ceòl, spòrs, còmhradh | Radio station with news, music, sport & conversation.

@Highland_Herbs. All things herbal and Scots! Project of Claire MacKay @OutlanderHerbal Pharmacopoiea of Highland herbs involving translation of #Gaelic early medical manuscripts

@SERFProject. An archaeological research and community project run by the University of Glasgow examining archaeology in Strathearn and Forteviot.

contains a collection of information, vocabulary, grammar and other details of the Celtic languages which is available on this site, and elsewhere.

An attempt to collect as many possible early and medieval texts produced in the "Celtic" countries, or on Celtic themes

A dedicated research institute of the University of Wales, located alongside the National Library of Wales in Aberystwyth. They carry out collaborative research projects into the language, literature and history of Wales and the other Celtic countries.

This website contains over five thousand concise biographies of individuals who have made a significant contribution to national life, whether in Wales or more widely.

Requires Flash. Welsh/Irish phrase booklet contains sentences, useful vocabulary and audio files.There is a wide selection of themes.

Explore the catalogue and digital resources

Online dictionary from University of Wales Trinity Saint David

From the National Library of Wales.

from the National Library of Wales.

@BBCRadioCymru Y newyddion a gwybodaeth diweddaraf am raglenni BBC Radio Cymru

Updates on book history, print culture and digital humanities, mainly by Anthony Mandal, Director of the Centre for Editorial & Intertextual Research, Cardiff University.

@Carmjournal Official account of Wales's oldest newspaper, the Carmarthen Journal - proud to serve the communities of Carmarthenshire, Ceredigion and Pembrokeshire

@CelticGaelic. Ceiltis is Gàidhlig/ Celtic & Gaelic Oilthigh Ghlaschu/ University of Glasgow.

@CynefinProject Digitising the tithe maps of Wales. Looking for volunteers to help transcribe and geo-reference the maps using crowd-sourcing website.

@gregynogfest Gwyl gerdd hynaf Cymru / Wales's oldest music festival. 2018 events from July to December mark the centenary of Morfydd Owen's death on 7 September.

@NLWales The National Library of Wales.