Skip to main content

Library Re-opening

UCC Library is committed to reopening both Boole and Brookfield libraries as soon as it is safe to do so: the safety of library users and staff is the chief guiding principle. Read more about our plans and schedule for re-opening our Libraries .

Please see our policies regarding re-opening here

Dorman Collection: Home

About the Collection

Collection Ref.:             IE BL/SC/OD
Title:                            Dorman Collection
Dates:                            1847 - 1998
Level of description:    Item
Extent:                          32 items
 
Administrative History:
IE BL/SC/OD is the Dorman Collection held in UCC Library. This collection was donated to the library by Olivia Dorman in 2007.
 
Biographical History:

Miss Dorman’s family were originally of Raffeen House, Scilly, Kinsale and were prominent in the area for generations. Associated family residences include Ballea Castle, Carrigaline Co. Cork, Myrtle Lodge, Kinsale, Co. Cork and Moneygormy House in Carrigaline.

Members of the family intermarried with the Whites of Bantry House (see Bantry Estate Collection) and also the family of Lennox Robinson.

Many members of the family were church of Ireland clergy men and the first time the Bells of Shandon were rung was for the marriage of a Miss Dorman.

(Information taken from Collection file of research conducted by UCC Library Archives Service on donation of the collection in 2007).
 
Content:

The collection comprises of nine diaries, six of which are miniature almanacs kept by members of the Dorman family of Raffeen, Scilly, and Kinsale Co. Cork. There is also a family tree and associated documents. The collection is listed in date order.

Access & Use

Opening Hours: 10:00 - 12:45 Monday to Friday

Access to archival collections is by prior appointment, giving at least one week's notice in advance, by completing this online form

Email:  specialcollectionsarchives@ucc.ie

Finding Aid: Item descriptions (see separate tab above, next to 'Home' tab)

Additional Collection Information

Language: English

Copyright: UCC Library

Collection Image

    Material from the Dorman Collection