Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

UCC Library now Re-opened.

Both Boole and Brookfield BHSL Libraries have re-opened with the safety of Library users and staff as our chief guiding principle.

Please see our policies and important changes regarding re-opening here

Update from our Director of Library Services, Colette McKenna regarding Library Services During COVID Level 5 - Here

Dorman Collection: Item Descriptions

Dorman Collection: Item Descriptions

The Dorman Collection has been fully catalogued and is listed below.

If you find material relevant to your research, please note the call number(s) and click here to arrange an appointment to visit.

 

1.  1847

Red leather bound “Tilt’s Pocket Almanack” with a printed table of contents (Easter Day, Home Office, Transfers and Dividends, etc.) along with mss entries in fortnightly pages “Richard died” (14 March); “Young Eyres started for Eyrescourt” (2 July); “Went to Gougane Barra” (23 July); “Alice went to Mitchelstown” (18 December). Includes printed miniature quotes from the bible “If any man be in Christ, he is a new creature – 2 Cor.v.17”. 

70pp (10.3cm x 6cm)
 

2.  1851

Black leather bound “Victoria Miniature Almanack” with a printed table of contents along with mss entries alongside printed events of importance for particular dates, “Papa and boys came from London” (13 Oct.); and “13 ½ weights of potatoes from Castletownroche” (3 December).

50pp (6.4cm x 4cm)
 

3.  25 Dec. 1851 - 1852

Black leather bound “Victoria Miniature Almanack” with a printed table of contents along with mss entries alongside printed events of importance for particular dates, “Aunt [Sally] buried at St. Barrys” (29 March);and “Barrys & Edwards dined” (24 August).

49pp (6.3cm x 3.8cm)
 

4.  1853

Black leather bound “Victoria Miniature Almanack” with a printed table of contents along with mss entries alongside printed events of importance for particular dates - “My birthday aged 26” (9 July); “Great flood” (2 November); “Mr. Herbert died” (29 November).

40pp (6.3cm x 3.9cm)
 

5.  1853

Paperback “Victoria Miniature Almanack” with a printed table of contents along with mss entries alongside printed events of importance for particular dates - “Louisa Bernard died of Fever” (5 June); “weather very wet” (31 August) 

46pp (6.2cm x 3.5cm)
 

6.  27 Dec. 1853 - 1854

Black leather bound “Victoria Miniature Almanack” with a printed table of contents along with mss entries alongside printed events of importance for particular dates. “Confined to bed [very early]” (20 March); and “Edward Hartigan & wife in town” (23 April). Includes illustration inside front cover depicting “Last moments of Arthur Duke of Wellington”; and loose illustrations of an African with a bible in his coat pocket on his knees praying to Jesus Christ, and men on horses approaching a fort/castle. 

49pp (6.2cm x 3.8cm) Enclosure
 

7.  1857

Black leather bound “Victoria Miniature Almanack” with a printed table of contents along with mss entries alongside printed events of importance for particular dates. “Mary Redford had twins” (9 May). Includes loose printed illustration of waterfall, trees and mountains, and coloured image of a lady on inside front cover (July).
38pp

(6.2cm x 3.5cm)  Enclosure
 

8.  1873

Cloth bound with metal clasp “Lett’s Pocket Diary and Almanac” with interesting information – birthdays of the Royal Family, London Joint Stock Banks – with mss daily entries. “Willie began his duties as Engineer on the C&B Railway” (10 March); and “First letter from Eddie had a good voyage saw icebergs and arrived in Quebec 30th of April” (15 May). 

103pp (10.5cm x 5.7cm)
 

9.  15 – 16 April 1873

Mss postcard to Mrs. Dorman Richmond House, Patricks Hill, Cork, assuring her [he] has arrived safely, met Jack and on way to Liverpool.

1 item
 

10.  23 June 1873

Mss postcard from [Richard Caulfield, Hon. Secretary], Royal Institution, Cork, to Miss Orr, Main Street, Kinsale, asking that she ignore any correspondence re-attendance of a meeting at Victoria College.

1 item
 

11.   1874

Cloth bound with metal clasp “Lett’s Pocket Diary and Almanac” with interesting information – “Directions for a Will” - with mss daily entries - “Very wild day” (11 February); “Willie 24 years old” (9 November); a/cs at front of diary; and a lot of entries referring to letters to “Eddie” in Canada. Includes loose directory with list of Lett’s publications and advertisements. 

104pp & enclosure
 

12.   1875

Cloth bound with metal clasp “Lett’s Pocket Diary and Almanac” with mss daily entries – “Richard still laid up with mumps” (20 January); “Willie married to Loucia M Stewart at Kilroan Church…” (11 February); “Jane Dorman buried at Nohoval” (26 August); “M. Dorman married at St. Lukes by my precious husband…a mad act in my opinion and should not have been allowed…” (16 September); and many entries referring to Eddie. Includes loose printed advertisements. 

102pp & enclosure
 

13.   Aug. 1926

B&W photograph of two boys in sailor suits standing next to a flag-pole or mast in a garden. Inscription on the back is “Ian & Colin Robertson Aug. 1926 at ‘Raffeen’ Scilly Kinsale Co. Cork”. 

11cm x 6.7cm
 

14.   Sept. 1932

Sepia photograph of Ian & Colin Robertson, one sitting, the other standing, formally dressed. Their names and the date are inscribed on the back as well as “Evas two boys [S. Africa]. Eva was a miss Dorman both boys killed at war buried inside frontgate of St. Multose Church Kinsale Co. Cork on righthand side” 

13.1cm x 8.2cm

 

15.   14 Aug. 1947 – 28 July 1986

Newspaper cutting of an article entitled “On The Typhoid Patients’ Presentation to Doctor” relating to poetry by Alexander Reaney, Keady, commemorating the work of  Dr. H. H. G. Dorman, M.O. and staff, thanking them on their service during a fever epidemic in 1946-47. Includes photocopy of same; and envelope with mss notes on it “I had this copy made for you, as I thought you would like to have it Love Mother” – she may have been the wife of Dr. Dorman of 1947. 

3 items
 

16.   9 April 1965 – 18 June 1970

Hardback notebook as account book belonging to Miss Dorman, Raffeen, Scilly, for vegetables with M. Allen, Main Street, Kinsale. Details information under – date; vegetable; and cost. 

92pp
 

17.   Nov. 1968 - 16 Sept. 1970

Various notifications on changes to postal and telephone charges sent to Henry Dorman, Scilly, Kinsale, Co. Cork. 

5 items
 

18.   26 Oct. 1991

Mss letter from Stephen Dorman, Cornwall, England, to Olivia Dorman, Kinsale, thanking her for her hospitality during their visit to Kinsale. He also mentions how well received they were at [Knockmourne]. He writes of his family news, and his research into family history, especially the Australian side of the family. 

6pp
 

19.   Nov. 1998

Mss cover letter from Philippa Marshall, Kent, England, to Olivia Dorman, Kinsale, enclosing a printed copy of the funeral service of her father, Stephen Richard Chudleigh Dorman. 

3 items
 

20.   [nd]

Ephemera of the collection – business card for Olivia A.H. Dorman with mss note on reverse stating the address of “Raffeen” has been the family home for most of last century; calling card for Brigadier Edward Dorman (Cavalry Club); and mss note of the Dorman family motto “In Arduis Viget Vintus”. 

3 items