L&T: Open Workshops: Study & Assignment Essentials

This workshop helps you to begin searching the Library collections for the resources needed for assignments and research. We cover how to use tools such as the Library Catalogue, the OneSearch tool, the eBooks and eJournals menu, and Reading Lists. Whether you're looking for that special item on the Library shelves or exploring online information for a new topic, this workshop will provide the guidance you need. There are opportunities to practice using online resources (particularly eBooks and scholarly journal articles) via interactive exercises.

This workshop helps you with locating and using scholarly databases for assignments and research. Databases offer access to a wide range of content, from scholarly journals and newspaper archives, to up-to-date statistics and photography collections. There are opportunities to practise using databases via interactive exercises.

See UCC Library's A-Z Databases

The aim of the session is to explore how large language model (LLM) tools like ChatGPT and Copilot might be used as part of the information search process. The session includes discussion, demonstrations and hands-on exercises, and consideration of appropriate use of Gen AI and critical appraisal. 

In this workshop we explore the challenges we all face when evaluating information sources. It is essential that the information we use, both in our academic and our everyday lives, has value and relevance. We assess a range of approaches that can help with critical appraisal of sources, spotting misinformation, avoiding bias, and taking responsibility for the information that we use. 

This workshop is designed to equip researchers involved in systematic reviews with advanced skills in searching techniques to ensure a systematic search of the literature is undertaken for their evidence synthesis project. A systematic search is an essential component of a successful systematic review. Along with instruction and demonstration from librarians, participants engage in practical exercises and group discussions to enhance their understanding of searching techniques.

See also: Systematic Review Guide

This workshop introduces you to the key concepts of citing, referencing and plagiarism that must be applied in assignments and research. We discuss the importance of using citations and references to give credit to the sources that you use, in order to avoid plagiarism. Additionally, we cover using appropriate citation conventions, and how you can maintain integrity when referring to different types of sources, thereby contributing to the scholarly conversation within your field. 

See also: Academic Integrity Guide

This online workshop introduces you to what referencing software is, and to some of its key functions and features. We discuss the ways in which referencing software can help with assignments and research and provide tips on choosing the best software package for your needs and using it effectively.

See also Referencing Software Overview

This workshop introduces you to the standard UCC version of Harvard referencing. If Harvard is the style of referencing you are expected to use, you should take care to follow UCC's approved guidelines on this style. We focus on how to cite sources within the text of your work, and also how to create full references for your bibliography. There are opportunities to practise these via interactive activities.

See also UCC's Harvard Referencing Guide