UCC Library: Mathematics: Databases

Open Access Databases

Academic Journals
It publishes 111 peer-reviewed Open Access journals in different disciplines.
arXiv - Cornell University
It provides open access to 1,158,751 e-prints in Physics, Mathematics, Computer Science, Quantitative Biology, Quantitative Finance & Statistics.
Bentham Open
Bentham Science publishes over 230 peer-reviewed, open access journals covering all major disciplines of science, technology, medicine & social science.
De Gruyter Open
De Gruyter Open (formerly Versita) is one of the world’s leading publishers of open access scientific content. Today De Gruyter Open (DGO) publishes about 600 own and third-party scholarly journals across all major disciplines.
DOAB
Directory of Open Access Books is an excellent resource offering full text e-books in PDF format.

more... less...

The directory is open to all publishers who publish academic, peer reviewed books in Open Access and should contain as many books as possible, provided that these publications are in Open Access and meet academic standards.
DOAJ
DOAJ covers free, full text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals. The aim of the Directory of Open Access Journals is to increase the visibility and ease of use of open access scientific and scholarly journals thereby promoting their increased usage and impact.

more... less...

The Directory aims to be comprehensive and cover all open access scientific and scholarly journals that use a quality control system to guarantee the content.
Erudit
It is the largest disseminator of French language & bi-lingual resources in North America.
InTech Open
InTech Open is a reading platform which serves as a digital home for an ever growing number of 500 books and over 8,000 scholarly articles and chapters published by InTech.
MDPI
MDPI.com, the website of the Multidisciplinary Digital Publishing Institute, is a platform for peer-reviewed, scientific open-access journals operated by MDPI AG, based in Basel, Switzerland. MDPI publishes over 110 open access electronic journals in diverse disciplines. Journals published by MDPI are fully open access: research articles, reviews or any other content on this platform is available to everyone free of charge.

more... less...

To be able to provide open access journals, MDPI finances publication though article processing charges (APC); these are usually covered by the authors' institutes or research funding bodies. Journals published include Molecules (launched in 1996; Impact Factor 2.428), The International Journal of Molecular Sciences (launched in 2000; Impact Factor 2.464), Sensors (launched in 2001; Impact Factor 1.953), Marine Drugs (launched in 2003; Impact Factor 3.978), Energies (launched in 2008; Impact Factor 1.844), The International Journal of Environmental Research and Public Health (launched in 2004; Impact Factor 1.998), Viruses (launched in 2009; Impact Factor 2.509), Remote Sensing (launched in 2009; Impact Factor 2.101), Toxins (launched in 2009; Impact Factor 2.129) and Nutrients (launched in 2009; Impact Factor 2.072). Their publishing activities are supported by more than 5000 active scientists on the journals' international editorial boards, including several Nobel Laureates. More than 120,000 individual authors have already published with MDPI, and 350,000 scholars are in the pool of reviewers. MDPI aims to have all of its journals covered by the Science Citation Index Expanded (SCIE) and Scopus indexing systems. Several journals have already been covered by SCIE for several years and have received official impact factors. Some life-science related journals are also covered by PubMed/MEDLINE and archived through PubMed Central (PMC). All the journals are archived with the Swiss National Library.

Databases

Below is a list of most important databases for your subject area. Relevant databases for Mathematics are listed here

Academic Search Complete

Academic Search Complete is a scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database. The database features PDF content dating back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in searchable PDF format.
ACM Digital Library

The ACM DL is a vast collection of citations and full text from ACM journal, newsletter articles and conference proceedings.

Excluded from licence: ACM Career Centre, ACM Professional Development Centre and Computing Reviews. Personalised services such as TOC alerts, binders and email forwarding are not available.
AMS Journals
AMS peer-reviewed journals are of the highest quality in mathematical research. The journals have been published since 1891 and cover a broad range of mathematics.

Full text access to:
Bulletin of the American Mathematical Society (1891 to current)
Conformal Geometry and Dynamics (1997 - current)
Journal of the American Mathematical Society (1988 to current)
Mathematics of Computation (1943 to current)
Proceedings of the American Mathematical Society (1950 to current)
Representation Theory (1997 - current)
St. Petersburg Mathematical Journal (2004 - current)
Theory of Probability and Mathematical Statistics (2004 - current)
Transactions of the American Mathematical Society (1900 to current)
Transactions of the Moscow Mathematical Society (2004 - 2021)
IEEE Xplore Digital Library
IEEE Xplore is the flagship digital platform for discovery and access to scientific and technical content published by the IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers) and its publishing partners. The website contains documents and other materials from some of the world's most cited publications in electrical engineering, computer science, and related sciences.

Content is available from the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE), the Institution of Electrical Engineers (IEE) and the Institution of Engineering and Technology (IET).
JSTOR

JSTOR provides a comprehensive digital archive of important scholarly journals. It offers multidisciplinary and discipline-specific collections that include complete runs of journals as well as select monographs, transactions, and conference proceedings.

Access is available to the following collections: the 19th Century British Pamphlets Collection, the Arts and Sciences I to XV Collections, Business IV Collection, Global Plants Collection, Hebrew Journals Collection, the Ireland Collection, the Life Sciences Collection, Lives of Literature Collection, Public Health Journals Collection, Security Studies Collection and Sustainability Collection.
MathSciNet
Provides timely reviews or summaries of articles and books that contain new contributions to mathematical research.
ScienceDirect

The resource provides full text access to over 2,500 journals and over 190 UCC purchased books in all disciplines published by Elsevier Science.

Most journal coverage dates back to 1995. However, backfiles are available for the following titles:

Biochemical and Biophysical Research Communications (1959-1994)
Chemical Physics (1973-1994)
Chemical Physics Letters (1967-1994)
Journal of Chromatography A (1958-1994)
Journal of Chromatography B: Biomedical Sciences and Applications (1977-1994)
Nuclear Physics B (1967-1994)
Tetrahedron (1957-1994)
Tetrahedron: Asymmetry (1990-1994)
Tetrahedron Letters (1959-1994)
Scopus

Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature, scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. Across all research fields - science, mathematics, engineering, technology, health and medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities — Scopus delivers the broadest overview of global, interdisciplinary scientific information.
Web of Science Core Collection
This resource allows the user to search the world’s leading scholarly journals, books and proceedings in the sciences, social sciences, and arts & humanities and navigate the full citation network.

The Web of Science Core Collection covers the period from 1945 to present.

Features include:
> All cited references for all publications are fully indexed and searchable.
> Search across all authors and all author affiliations.
> Track citation activity with Citation Alerts.
> See citation activity and trends graphically with Citation Report.
> Use Analyze Results to identify trends and publication patterns.
zbMATH Open
This Open Access resource contains around 5 million bibliographic entries, with reviews or abstracts currently drawn from more than 5,000 journal sources and 200,000 books, in pure and applied mathematics.

Coverage: 1868 - current

Mathematics Liaison Librarian

Mary Keane

Email Me

Contact:

Library Systems and Service Support,
UCC Library, University College Cork.

+353 (21) 490-3444