UCC Library: Microbiology: Databases & Repositories in Microbiology

Focus on a Database

Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature: scientific journals, books and conference proceedings and delivers a broad overview of global, interdisciplinary scientific information that researchers, teachers and students need to stay informed.

Watch the TUTORIALS on how to search SCOPUS.

Follow SCOPUS on Twitter.

Databases

Google Scholar

See the full list of databases available at UCC for more

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete is a scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database. The database features PDF content dating back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in searchable PDF format.
ASM Journals This link opens in a new window
The American Society for Microbiology's mission is to promote and advance the microbial sciences through conferences, publications, certifications and educational opportunities. Additionally, ASM promotes a deeper understanding of the microbial sciences to diverse audiences.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR provides a comprehensive digital archive of important scholarly journals. It offers multidisciplinary and discipline-specific collections that include complete runs of journals as well as select monographs, transactions, and conference proceedings.
Access is available to the following collections: the 19th Century British Pamphlets Collection, the Arts and Sciences I to XV Collections, Business IV Collection, Global Plants Collection, Hebrew Journals Collection, the Ireland Collection, the Life Sciences Collection, Lives of Literature Collection, Public Health Journals Collection, Security Studies Collection and Sustainability Collection.
MEDLINE (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
MEDLINE is a comprehensive source for medical and biomedical sciences.
MEDLINE (Ovid) This link opens in a new window
Ovid MEDLINE ® covers the international literature on biomedicine, including the allied health fields and the biological and physical sciences, humanities, and information science as they relate to medicine and health care
Ovid MEDLINE ® is produced by the National Library of Medicine.
Coverage: 1946 - current
Information is indexed from approximately 5,600 journals published world-wide.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
The resource provides full text access to over 2,500 journals and over 180 UCC purchased books in all disciplines published by Elsevier Science.
Most journal coverage dates back to 1995. However, backfiles are available for the following titles:

Biochemical and Biophysical Research Communications (1959-1994)
Chemical Physics (1973-1994)
Chemical Physics Letters (1967-1994)
Journal of Chromatography A (1958-1994)
Journal of Chromatography B: Biomedical Sciences and Applications (1977-1994)
Nuclear Physics B (1967-1994)
Tetrahedron (1957-1994)
Tetrahedron: Asymmetry (1990-1994)
Tetrahedron Letters (1959-1994)
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature, scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. Across all research fields - science, mathematics, engineering, technology, health and medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities — Scopus delivers the broadest overview of global, interdisciplinary scientific information.
Web of Science Core Collection This link opens in a new window
This resource allows the user to search the world’s leading scholarly journals, books and proceedings in the sciences, social sciences, and arts & humanities and navigate the full citation network.

The Web of Science Core Collection covers the period from 1945 to present.
Features include:
> All cited references for all publications are fully indexed and searchable.
> Search across all authors and all author affiliations.
> Track citation activity with Citation Alerts.
> See citation activity and trends graphically with Citation Report.
> Use Analyze Results to identify trends and publication patterns.

Data Repositories in Microbiology

Check out the libguide from Amherst, University of Mass.

BioGRID (USA)
BioGRID is an interaction repository for Microbiology with data compiled through comprehensive curation efforts. It includes publications for protein and genetic interactions, chemical associations and post translational modifications from major model organism species. All data are freely provided via their search index and available for download in standardised formats.
CORA
The Cork Open Research Archive, from University College Cork gives you free open access to UCC's scholarly and scientific research publications and theses.
FairSharing
A curated, informative and educational resource on data and metadata standards, inter-related to databases and data policies.
ResearchGate
ResearchGate is the largest professional network for scientists and researchers. This free and open access scientific platform enables members to collaborate with their colleagues and peers worldwide, using numerous features that are unique to ResearchGate.
Registry of Research Data Repositories (re3data.org)
re3data.org is a global registry of research data repositories that covers research data repositories from different academic disciplines.
more...less...
It presents repositories for the permanent storage and access of data sets to researchers, funding bodies, publishers and scholarly institutions. re3data.org promotes a culture of sharing, increased access and better visibility of research data.
NIH Supported Data Repositories (USA)
This table lists NIH-supported data repositories that make data accessible for reuse. Most accept submissions of appropriate data from NIH-funded investigators (and others), but some restrict data submission to only those researchers involved in a specific research network.
more...less...
Also included are resources that aggregate information about biomedical data and information sharing systems. The table can be sorted according by name and by NIH Institute or Center and may be searched using keywords so that you can find repositories more relevant to your data. Links are provided to information about submitting data to and accessing data from the listed repositories.