Find specific electronic journals and e-books by searching the E-Journals Portal
Search the Library Catalogue to find printed journals
A 'periodical' or 'serial' = any publication published regularly (includes magazines, newspapers, newsletters).
A ‘scholarly’/academic’ journal: periodical containing research articles, that is peer-reviewed, and aimed at researchers.
Peer review: every paper/article submitted to the journal is reviewed by independent experts. Papers are accepted/rejected based on quality.
Databases allow you to discover what has been published in the journals, in your area of research. The following are a good starting-point for a literature search for your research topic:
This resource covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and more.
The MLA International Bibliography is the definitive index for the study of language, literature, linguistics, rhetoric and composition, folklore, and film, covering scholarly publications from the late 19th century to the present. International in scope, it includes citations to journal articles, books, articles in books, series, translations, scholarly editions, websites, and dissertations, with links to full text in JSTOR, Project MUSE and other resources.
Project MUSE was launched in 1995 by the Johns Hopkins University Press to offer the full text of JHUP scholarly journals online. In 1999, Muse expanded to become a unique partnership of not-for-profit publishers, increasing its ability to offer essential periodicals in the humanities, the arts, and the social sciences.
OneSearch searches across a lot of the Library print AND electronic resources at the same time, including:
Information on how to use OneSearch
For access to UCC theses and theses from other Universities have a look at the Theses Guide. For information about Newspapers in UCC Library, and newspapers available through Library databases, see the Newspapers Guide.
