Skip to main content

UCC Library now Re-opened.

Both Boole and Brookfield BHSL Libraries have re-opened with the safety of Library users and staff as our chief guiding principle.

Please see our policies and important changes regarding re-opening here

Update from our Director of Library Services, Colette McKenna regarding Library Services During COVID Level 5 - Here

Modern Irish: Special Collections

Guides for Special Collections

For information on Special Collections see here.

Guides on specific areas of Special Collections:

Reference Sources

Special Collections holds the following books in series:

  • Irish Texts Society
  • Scriptores Latini Hiberniae
  • Todd Lecture Series

Special Collections also holds material on:

  • Abbreviations & Names
  • Catalogues & Bibliographies
  • Dictionaries, Encyclopedia & Atlases

Collection: Torna

The Torna Collection contains the books, journals and pamphlets belonging to the late Professor Tadhg Ó Donnchadha (Torna) who was Professor of Irish at University College Cork (1916 - 1944). The Torna collection contains 3000 items and contains material in: Old Irish Gaelic, Irish Gaelic, Scots Gaelic, Welsh, Breton, Cornish, Latin, Old Norse, German, French. Torna's personal collection has been supplemented by newer material in Irish. Both collections are located in the Reference Reading Room of Special Collections.

Torna's personal collection is organised by “author surname,” for example: T STOK. The newer material uses the Dewey Decimal System, for example: T 891.62 OhUI v.26.


Doyle, Arthur Conan. Cu na mBaskerville = The Hound of the Baskervilles. Baile Átha Cliath: Oifig Díolta Foilseacháin Rialtais, 1934.

Doyle, Arthur Conan. Eachtraí Sherlock Holmes. Trans. Proinnsias Ó Brógáin. Baile Átha Cliath: Oifig Díolta Foillseacháin Rialtais, 1936.

Collection: Linehan

The Linehan Collection contains the books of  Very Rev. Canon Diarmuid Linehan. (1934 - 2013). His collection contains 300 items on Irish language and literature. The collection must be requested in advance.

Ó Cadhain, Máirtín. Cré na Cille: aithris i ndeich n-eadarlúid. Baile Átha Cliath: Sáirséal agus Dill, 1949.

Manuscripts

Special Collections holds facsimiles of annals and manuscripts:

  • Annals of Inisfallen
  • Annals of Ulster
  • Book of Armagh 
  • The Book of Ballymote 
  • Books of Kells 
  • Leabhar Breac or The Speckled Book 
  • The Book of Lecan 
  • The Yellow Book of Lecan
  • Gutenberg Bible
  • Luttrell Psalter
  • Utrecht Psalter

Special Collecitions holds manuscripts on microfilm from institutions in Ireland, Europe and America.

Special Collections holds over 200 Gaelic Irish manuscripts.

Tutorials