Come up to the desk and ask Library staff or send an email.
Is the book out on loan? - place a hold. (How to reserve a book).
Request an Inter-Library Loan (available to Staff, Postgraduates & 4th Year Undergraduates).
Come across a book you think we should have?
You can recommend a book for UCC Library to purchase by logging in to your Library Account.
Want to receive an email when new books come in?
Log in to your Library Account and save your search. See instructions for Preferred Searches and Email Alerts.
Use the Library Catalogue to find books and eBooks.
Note:
For help, see:
See also: How do I find a book?
Most of UCC Library's ebooks can be found through the Library Catalogue (by limiting to "online resource". A 'view online' link is provided to the ebook.
Example:
Using a keyword search in the Library Catalogue for pharmacy AND ebook will bring up a list of ebooks available.
Databases which give access to eBook titles include:
This resource offers the complete text of over 270 books in the field of health sciences. For the period to December, 2025, UCC Library also has access to 116 eBooks in the CABI Human & Food Science eBook Collection.
This resource provides full text access to over 1,600 journals in all disciplines published by John Wiley & Sons.
Nursing law for students in Ireland by 
Interpersonal relationships : professional communication skills for nurses by 
The Royal Marsden Hospital manual of clinical nursing procedures by 
Essential communication skills for nursing and midwifery by 
Core curriculum for specializing in intellectual and developmental disability by 
Learning disability and other intellectual impairments : meeting needs throughout health services by 
Profound intellectual and multiple disabilities : nursing complex needs by 
Care planning and delivery in intellectual disability nursing by 
Diagnostic and statistical manual of mental disorders : DSM-5 by 
Psychiatric nursing : contemporary practice by 
Psychiatric-mental health nursing : an interpersonal approach by 
Psychiatric/mental health nursing : an Irish perspective by 
The art and science of mental health nursing : a textbook of principles and practice by 
Introduction to mental health nursing by 
Developing practical skills for nursing children and young people by 
Child-Centred Nursing : Promoting Critical Thinking by 
Emergencies in children's and young people's nursing by 
A textbook of childrens and young people's nursing by 
Pediatric primary care : practice guidelines for nurses by 
Aging well : gerontological education for nurses and other health professionals by 
Ebersole and Hess' gerontological nursing & healthy aging by 
Caring for older people : a shared approach by 
Public health skills : a practical guide for nurses and public health practitioners by 
Population-based nursing : concepts and competencies for advanced practice by 
Handbook of informatics for nurses & healthcare professionals by 
Textbook of palliative care communication by 
Targeted cancer therapy : a handbook for nurses by 
Advanced nursing practice and nurse-led clinics in oncology by 
Cancer nursing : principles and practice by 
Health promotion in midwifery : principles and practice by 
The hands-on guide to midwifery placements by 
Fundamentals of midwifery : a textbook for students by 
Physiology in childbearing : with anatomy and related biosciences by 
The midwives' guide to key medical conditions : pregnancy and childbirth by 
Introduction to nursing research : incorporating evidence-based practice by 
Lippincott manual of nursing practice by 
Qualitative Research in Nursing and Healthcare by 
RNotes : nurse's clinical pocket guide by Databases which give access to eBook titles include:
Research methodology : a step-by-step guide for beginners by 
Cochrane handbook for systematic reviews of interventions by 
Nursing research : principles, process and issues by 
Essentials of nursing research : appraising evidence for nursing practice by Reference books are books which are in high demand and can not be borrowed. These books can only be used in the Library.
"LIB USE ONLY" will appear on the catalogue under status and books will have stickers on the spine and front cover indicating they are reference material.
Reference books can be found in the lower ground floor (basement) of Brookfield Library.
Dewey Decimal Classification (DDC, also known as Dewey Decimal System) groups books together on similar subjects through call numbers. There are 10 main Dewy Decimal call number classifications.
Call numbers 613 - 999 are on the ground floor of the Library.
Call numbers below 613 (000 - 612) are on the lower ground floor (basement) of the Library.
Books are organised on the shelves by the call number then alphabetically by the first four letters of the author's last name.
