UCC Library: Nursing and Midwifery: Journals & Databases

What is an Academic Journal?

'Periodical' or 'serial'

Any publication published regularly (includes magazines, newspapers, newsletters).

‘Scholarly’ or 'academic’ journal =

Periodical containing research articles that are peer-reviewed and aimed at researchers.

Peer review =

Every paper/article submitted to an academic journal is reviewed by independent experts. Papers are accepted/rejected based on quality.

Journals and E-Journals

Find specific electronic & print journals by searching the Journals Portal

Google Scholar

When searching Google Scholar from home, log in to your Library Account first, and then search Google Scholar using the search box on the Library's Databases A-Z or use the search box below.

UCC Library offers training in Boole Library on a variety of topics including Google Scholar. View a list of upcoming events.

For more information, see the following:

Databases

Library databases are online collections of information. They mainly contain journal articles but most databases also hold book chapters, book reviews, reports, and conference papers.

Sometimes only the abstract, or summary, of a journal article will be available in a database but often you will be able to read the full text of the article too.

Below are key databases you should be aware of.

CINAHL Plus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
This resource contains a robust collection of nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for more than 770 journals indexed in CINAHL®. Full text coverage dates back to 1937.
Availability of full text: please note that there may be an embargo by the publisher on providing full text to recent journal issues. Older issues may only have abstracts available.
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
The Cochrane Library is a collection of databases that contain high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. The Cochrane Library provides reliable information from other systematic review abstracts, technology assessments, economic evaluations and individual clinical trials.
National licence sponsored by HRB, Ireland and R&D Office, NI

LENUS - The Irish Health Repository
Freely available Irish health research outputs.

PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed is a free database of biomedical citations and abstracts. PubMed provides access to bibliographic information that includes MEDLINE, and OLDMEDLINE (for pre-1966) and citations to articles that are out-of-scope (e.g., covering plate tectonics or astrophysics) from certain MEDLINE journals, primarily general science and general chemistry journals.
PubMed was developed and is maintained by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI), at the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM).
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
The resource provides full text access to over 2,500 journals and over 180 UCC purchased books in all disciplines published by Elsevier Science.
Most journal coverage dates back to 1995. However, backfiles are available for the following titles:

Biochemical and Biophysical Research Communications (1959-1994)
Chemical Physics (1973-1994)
Chemical Physics Letters (1967-1994)
Journal of Chromatography A (1958-1994)
Journal of Chromatography B: Biomedical Sciences and Applications (1977-1994)
Nuclear Physics B (1967-1994)
Tetrahedron (1957-1994)
Tetrahedron: Asymmetry (1990-1994)
Tetrahedron Letters (1959-1994)
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature, scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. Across all research fields - science, mathematics, engineering, technology, health and medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities — Scopus delivers the broadest overview of global, interdisciplinary scientific information.
BMJ Best Practice This link opens in a new window
BMJ Best Practice gives healthcare professionals fast and easy access to the latest information when making diagnosis and treatment decisions. UCC users can create a BMJ user account at https://bestpractice.bmj.com/registration using a campus networked pc. Then users can access the resource off campus using the personal account login credentials at https://bestpractice.bmj.com/login. This user account can also be used to log into the BMJ Best Practice App on mobile devices.
National licence sponsored by the Health Service Executive (HSE) National Health Library and Knowledge Service.
UpToDate This link opens in a new window
UpToDate is an evidence based, clinical information resource, which answers clinical questions.

• To access UpToDate content, the provider requires that you register a personal account with them. You will need to use your UCC email credentials in order to complete this registration.

• Users will need to reconfirm their affiliation with University College Cork every 90 days.

• Please read the Privacy Policy at https://www.wolterskluwer.com/en/solutions/uptodate/policies-legal/privacy-policy to ensure that you are aware of how personal data is handled by the provider.

• For any queries on this resource please email LibraryResources@ucc.ie
Web of Science Core Collection This link opens in a new window
This resource allows the user to search the world’s leading scholarly journals, books and proceedings in the sciences, social sciences, and arts & humanities and navigate the full citation network.

The Web of Science Core Collection covers the period from 1945 to present.
Features include:
> All cited references for all publications are fully indexed and searchable.
> Search across all authors and all author affiliations.
> Track citation activity with Citation Alerts.
> See citation activity and trends graphically with Citation Report.
> Use Analyze Results to identify trends and publication patterns.

Below are other databases of interest.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete is a scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database. The database features PDF content dating back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in searchable PDF format.

ASSIA
Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts on the Web is an indexing and abstracting tool covering health, social services, psychology, sociology, economics, politics, race relations and education.
more...less...
Updated monthly, ASSIA provides a comprehensive source of social science and health information for the practical and academic professional.

Embase This link opens in a new window
Embase is a biomedical and pharmacological database which gives you access to the most up-to-date information about medical and drug-related subjects.
Embase contains over 45 million records reflecting all current developments in biomedical and drug-related fields.
Maternity and Infant Care This link opens in a new window
8 users licence.
The resource is an amalgamation of references to journal articles, book chapters, reports and other ‘grey literature’ relating to the midwifery profession, pregnancy, labour, birth, postnatal care, and neonatal care extending into the first year of life.
Coverage in the database extends back to 1971
MedicinesComplete This link opens in a new window
MedicinesComplete offers access to world leading drug resources. The full text titles subscribed to are: British National Formulary, British National Formulary for Children, Martindale, Palliative Care Formulary, Pharmaceutical Excipients and Stockley's Drug Interactions.

Clinical Skills Online
This resource offers access to more than 280 current, fully illustrated, step-by-step guidelines on clinical skills.

To access the resource
-> Scroll down the page to the section titled Login via Shibboleth.
-> Select University College Cork from the pull down list and click Go to Login
-> Enter your UCC email credentials.

PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new window
This database provides access to journals covering the science of psychology and behaviour. Coverage spans 1894 to the present and nearly all APA journals go back to Volume 1, Issue 1.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
PsycINFO is an abstract database that provides systematic coverage of the psychological literature and summaries dating back to the 1600s. This resource is renowned for abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books and dissertations. It is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioural science and mental health. Journal coverage, which spans from the 1800s to the present, includes international material selected from periodicals in dozens of languages.
PsycINFO is published by the American Psychological Association and contains bibliographic citations, abstracts, cited references, and descriptive information across a wide variety of scholarly publications in the behavioural and social sciences.

Social Care Online (UK)
The UK’s largest database of information and research on all aspects of social care and social work

SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
SocINDEX is a comprehensive and high quality sociology research database. The resource contains full text from over 860 journals, 830 books and over 16,800 conference papers.
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Sociological Abstracts cover the international literature of sociology, social work, and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. It also includes the companion file, Social Services Abstracts.
Coverage: 1952 - current

Below are a selection of database tutorials and 'how to' videos.

How to use OneSearch
This is a video tutorial on how to use OneSearch.
How to use OneSearch
A PDF version of the how to use OneSearch video.

Tutorials: PubMed Playlist
A playlist of PubMed tutorials.
Use MeSH to Build a Better PubMed Query
This tutorial shows how to build a targeted PubMed search starting in the MeSH database.
ScienceDirect Training Videos Playlist
A playlist of ScienceDirect Training Videos.
Get started with ScienceDirect
This tutorial shows the basic features of ScienceDirect.
Web of Science Core Collection
A playlist of Web of Science's Core Collection.
Web of Science - Advanced Search
This tutorial shows how to use the Advanced Search feature in Web of Science.

Accessing Electronic Resources

Information for UCC staff and students in relation to accessing electronic resources, including useful guides and terms and conditions of use, can be found on the Electronic Resources Subject Guide.