'Periodical' or 'serial'
‘Scholarly’ or 'academic’ journal =
Peer review =
Find specific electronic & print journals by searching the Journals Portal
When searching Google Scholar from home, log in to your Library Account first, and then search Google Scholar using the search box on the Library's Databases A-Z or use the search box below.
UCC Library offers training in Boole Library on a variety of topics including Google Scholar. View a list of upcoming events.
For more information, see the following:
Library databases are online collections of information. They mainly contain journal articles but most databases also hold book chapters, book reviews, reports, and conference papers.
Sometimes only the abstract, or summary, of a journal article will be available in a database but often you will be able to read the full text of the article too.
Below are key databases you should be aware of.
This resource contains a robust collection of nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for more than 770 journals indexed in CINAHL®. Full text coverage dates back to 1937.
The Cochrane Library is a collection of databases that contain high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. The Cochrane Library provides reliable information from other systematic review abstracts, technology assessments, economic evaluations and individual clinical trials.
Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature, scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. Across all research fields - science, mathematics, engineering, technology, health and medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities — Scopus delivers the broadest overview of global, interdisciplinary scientific information.
BMJ Best Practice gives healthcare professionals fast and easy access to the latest information when making diagnosis and treatment decisions. UCC users can create a BMJ user account at https://bestpractice.bmj.com/registration/user using a campus networked pc. Then users can access the resource off campus using the personal account login credentials at https://bestpractice.bmj.com/login. This user account can also be used to log into the BMJ Best Practice App on mobile devices.
UpToDate is an evidence based, clinical information resource, which answers clinical questions.
• To access UpToDate content, the provider requires that you register a personal account with them. You will need to use your UCC email credentials in order to complete this registration.
• Users will need to reconfirm their affiliation with University College Cork every 90 days.
• Please read the Privacy Policy at https://www.wolterskluwer.com/en/solutions/uptodate/policies-legal/privacy-policy to ensure that you are aware of how personal data is handled by the provider.
• For any queries on this resource please email LibraryResources@ucc.ie
Below are other databases of interest.
Academic Search Complete is a scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database. The database features PDF content dating back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in searchable PDF format.
Embase is a biomedical and pharmacological database which gives you access to the most up-to-date information about medical and drug-related subjects.
MedicinesComplete offers access to world leading drug resources. The full text titles subscribed to are: British National Formulary, British National Formulary for Children, Martindale, Palliative Care Formulary, Pharmaceutical Excipients and Stockley's Drug Interactions.
This database provides access to journals covering the science of psychology and behaviour. Coverage spans 1894 to the present and nearly all APA journals go back to Volume 1, Issue 1.
PsycINFO is an abstract and index database that provides systematic coverage of the psychological literature and summaries dating back to the 1600s. This resource is renowned for abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books and dissertations. It is the world's largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioural science and mental health. Journal coverage, which spans from the 1800s to the present, includes international material selected from periodicals in dozens of languages.
SocINDEX is a comprehensive and high quality sociology research database. SocINDEX with Full Text includes 3,216 active indexed and abstracted journals. 3,129 of them are peer-reviewed.
Below are a selection of database tutorials and 'how to' videos.
Information for UCC staff and students in relation to accessing electronic resources, including useful guides and terms and conditions of use, can be found on the Electronic Resources Subject Guide.
You can also find a journal using the Journals Portal and searching by journal title or keyword.
