Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

UCC Library now Re-opened.

Both Boole and Brookfield BHSL Libraries have re-opened with the safety of Library users and staff as our chief guiding principle.

Please see our policies and important changes regarding re-opening here

Update from our Director of Library Services, Colette McKenna regarding Library Services During COVID Level 5 - Here

Samuel Lopes Salzedo Collection: Home

About the Collection

Collection Ref.:             IE BL/L/SLS
Title:                            Samuel Lopes Salzedo Collection
Dates:                           1930 - 1946
Level of description:    Item
Extent:                          2 items
 
Administrative History:

E BL/L/SLS is material relating to Samuel Lopes Salzedo held in the UCC Library. This collection was donated to UCC Library by Caroline Lopes-Salzedo (granddaughter of Salzedo) in June 2013.

Biographical History: Samuel Lopes Salzedo was born in London in 1872, the son of Sephardic Jews who had emigrated from Amsterdam. He had a gift for languages and, as well as working in Russia, and in Rome for the International Agricultural Institute, he worked for most of his life as a legal interpreter and translator in London, fluent in over 10 languages.

As a young man, he rejected religion, and joined the Fabian Society where he met George Bernard Shaw. He was also a keen amateur musician and published a book on Niccoló Paganini, which is the subject of one of the letters.

He died in London in 1957, and was survived by his son, composer Leonard Salzedo.

Information kindly supplied by Caroline Lopes-Salzedo.

Content: 

The Samuel Lopes Salzedo Collection is listed in date order. It consists of two letters from George Bernard Shaw to Salzedo on the topics of space/curvilinear universe, and the composer Paganini.

Access & Use

Email:  specialcollectionsarchives@ucc.ie

Finding Aid: Item descriptions (see separate tab above, next to 'Home' tab)

Additional Collection Information

Language: English

Related Material: George Bernard Shaw Collection (UCC Library Archives Service)

Copyright: UCC Library

Collection Image

   Excerpt from a letter from GB Shaw to Salzedo