UCC Library: Study of Religions: Journals and Databases

Journals and eJournals

Find specific electronic & print journals by searching the Journal Portal

Browse Philosophy and Religion journals to get an idea of what is available.

What is an Academic Journal?

A 'periodical' or 'serial' = any publication published regularly (includes magazines, newspapers, newsletters).

A ‘scholarly’/academic’ journal: periodical containing research articles, that is peer-reviewed, and aimed at researchers.

Peer review: every paper/article submitted to the journal is reviewed by independent experts. Papers are accepted/rejected based on quality.

Databases

Encyclopedia of Buddhism This link opens in a new window
This resource describes the Buddhist world view, basic teachings and practices of Buddhism, as well as its different schools and sects.
Robert E. Buswell, Jr., ed. (2004)
New York: Macmillan Reference USA, 982 pages, 2 vols.
Encyclopedia of Religion This link opens in a new window
This resource presents a cross-cultural approach that emphasizes religion's role within everyday life and as a unique experience from culture to culture.
Lindsay Jones, ed. (2005)
2nd ed., Detroit: Macmillan Reference USA, 10,735 pages, 15 vols.
Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new window
Oxford Reference brings together language and subject reference works from one of the world's biggest reference publishers into a single cross-searchable resource.

The databases below also offer good coverage of religious studies articles, journal titles etc.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
good coverage of religious studies material
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
with over 150 journal titles in Religious Studies and over 1,000 in social sciences
Access is available to the following collections: the Ireland Collection, the Arts and Sciences I to XII Collections, the Life Sciences Collection and the 19th Century British Pamphlets Collection.
Philosopher's Index This link opens in a new window
The Philosopher's Index is a bibliographic database with informative, author-written abstracts covering scholarly research in all areas of philosophy. The literature covered goes back to 1940 and includes journal articles, books, book chapters such as contributions to an anthology, and book reviews. The Philosopher's Index includes more than 530,000 records in 37 languages and is updated quarterly. Extensive indexing includes personal and proper names along with subject terms; there is also the capability to search for the authors of book reviews.
Coverage: 1940 - current
Web of Science Core Collection This link opens in a new window
multidisciplinary database which includes Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index
Features include:
> All cited references for all publications are fully indexed and searchable.
> Search across all authors and all author affiliations.
> Track citation activity with Citation Alerts.
> See citation activity and trends graphically with Citation Report.
> Use Analyze Results to identify trends and publication patterns.

Other relevant databases

International Medieval Bibliography This link opens in a new window
The leading bibliography of the European Middle Ages (c.400-1500) providing a comprehensive and current bibliography of articles in journals and miscellany volumes worldwide.
Patrologia Latina This link opens in a new window
This database contains 221 volumes and represents a complete electronic version of the first edition of Jacques-Paul Migne's Patrologica Latina (1844-1855 and 1862-1865). Migne's Patrologica Latina was originally printed in 217 volumes from 1844 to 1855. There were two series: the series prima, volumes 1 to 73 (Tertullian to Gregory the Great), 1844-1849 and the series secunda, volumes 74 to 217 (Gregory the Great to Pope Innocent 3rd) 1849-1855. The Patrologica Latina Database has been based exclusively on the copies of the first edition of the texts and indices.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Project MUSE was launched in 1995 by the Johns Hopkins University Press to offer the full text of JHUP scholarly journals online. In 1999, Muse expanded to become a unique partnership of not-for-profit publishers, increasing its ability to offer essential periodicals in the humanities, the arts, and the social sciences.
This resource provides access to the full text of over 700 journal titles.

See the full list of databases available at UCC Library here

Web Resources

Jesuit Online Bibliography
The Jesuit Online Bibliography is a collaborative effort among Jesuit research centers and archives as well as scholars and publishers. The editorial oversight is shared between the project's three founding institutions -- the Archivum Romanum Societatis Iesu, the Jesuitica Project at KU Leuven, and the Institute for Advanced Jesuit Studies at Boston College.
Univ of Calgary - web resources list for religion
This web site, in existence since 1995, focuses on free (open-access) internet resources ( bibliographies/indexes, library and archive catalogues, dictionaries/encyclopedias, e-texts and journals) supporting the academic study of religion. It is compiled by Cheryl Adams, Library of Congress and Saundra Lipton, University of Calgary Library.

Theses & Newspapers

For access to UCC theses and theses from other Universities refer to the Theses Guide. For information about Newspapers in UCC Library, and newspapers available through Library databases, see the Newspapers Guide.

Reference Sources

The reference books below are available in UCC Library

The Encyclopedia of Religious Phenomena by J. Gordon Melton
ISBN: 9781578592098
Publication Date: 2007-09-01
The Oxford Handbook of Global Religions by Mark Juergensmeyer (Editor)
ISBN: 9780195137989
Publication Date: 2006-10-12
The Oxford Dictionary of World Religions by John Bowker (Editor)
ISBN: 0192139657
Publication Date: 1997-05-08