UCC Library: Digital Humanities: Books & E-books

Books for Digital Humanities in UCC Library

Digital Humanities includes a wide range of subject areas – from computer science to literature, electronic text production to digital collections, archives, and libraries. UCC Library uses the 'Dewey Decimal' system to arrange the books by subject. Doing a keyword search in the Library Catalogue should help you find books of relevance.

Digital Humanities Series from Open Book Publishers

A series of 8 (currently) Open Access titles:

Whose Book is it Anyway? A View From Elsewhere on Publishing, Copyright and Creativity by Janis Jefferies and Sarah Kember
Text Genetics in Literary Modernism and Other Essays by Hans Walter Gabler
Searching for Sharing: Heritage and Multimedia in Africa by Daniela Merolla and Mark Turin (eds.)
Digital Scholarly Editing: Theories and Practices by Matthew James Driscoll and Elena Pierazzo (eds.)
Digital Humanities Pedagogy: Practices, Principles and Politics by Brett D. Hirsch (ed.)
Oral Literature in the Digital Age: Archiving Orality and Connecting with Communities by Mark Turin, Claire Wheeler and Eleanor Wilkinson (eds.)
The Digital Public Domain: Foundations for an Open Culture by Melanie Dulong de Rosnay and Juan Carlos De Martin (eds.)
Text and Genre in Reconstruction: Effects of Digitalization on Ideas, Behaviours, Products and Institutions by Willard McCarty (ed.)

Recommend a Book for the Library

You can recommend a book for UCC Library to purchase. Click here and fill out the e-proposal form.

How to Find a Print Book

Use the Library Catalogue to find books and eBooks. Note:
Location: what floor it is on

Call number: where it is shelved - see the book's spine

Status: is it available or currently on loan?

More information here

E-books

You can choose to search for e-books only on the E-journals & E-books page - see:

Most of UCC Library's e-books can be located through the Library catalogue. A 'view online' link is provided to the e-book, for example:

It is also possible to do a keyword search of e-book databases. Ebook databases relevant for Digital Arts & Humanities include:

Brill Open E-Book Collection This link opens in a new window
BRILL content has a strong international focus on the Humanities and Social Sciences, International Law and selected areas in the Sciences.

CELT Corpus of electronic texts (UCC)

Directory of Open Access Books This link opens in a new window
This resource contains over 86,000 academic peer-reviewed books.
Ebook Central (Academic Complete) This link opens in a new window
The Ebook Central resource now incorporates a subscription to the Academic Complete titles package, which provides UCC Library with full text access to over 234,000 ebooks, across a broad range of subject areas.
UCC Library owns over 3,000 of the titles available on Ebook Central.
Literature Online This link opens in a new window
Literature Online runs from the 8th Century to the 21st Century and includes 350,000 works of poetry, drama and prose, as well as articles from over 430 journals.
Open Book Publishers This link opens in a new window
Open Book Publishers (OBP), founded in 2008, is the biggest open access academic publisher of monographs in the UK and amongst the leaders in the English-speaking world. OBP has published over 350 titles, across a wide variety of disciplines.

As part of the membership scheme currently offered by OBP, titles may be downloaded in a range of formatted digital editions. As members, UCC Library is supporting Open Access publishing and the goal of making quality research available to all.

Reference works online

Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new window
Oxford Reference brings together language and subject reference works from one of the world's biggest reference publishers into a single cross-searchable resource.

Digital Humanities Pedagogy [E-book]

Digital Humanities Pedagogy: Practices, Principles and Politics
edited by Brett D. Hirsch. Available in PDF or HTML

New Books

Would you like to be alerted by email to new books received in the Library in your subject area? Just log into your Library Account on the Library Catalogue and save your search. See the instructions for saving your searches here.

Digital Humanities: Books & E-books