Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

UCC Library now Re-opened.

Both Boole and Brookfield BHSL Libraries have re-opened with the safety of Library users and staff as our chief guiding principle.

Please see our policies and important changes regarding re-opening here

Update from our Director of Library Services, Colette McKenna regarding Library Services During COVID Level 5 - Here

Fenian Photographs Collection: Home

About the Collection

Collection Ref.:             IE BL/P/F
Title:                            Fenian Photographs Collection
Dates:                           1860's; 1964
Level of description:    Item
Extent:                          17 items
 
Administrative History:

IE BL/P/F are a set of sixteen reproductions of photographs taken during the 1860’s of Fenian prisoners awaiting trial. The originals are stored in the National Archives. These copies were presented to UCC in 1964 by a local historian, Walter McGrath.

Biographical History: The original photographs were taken in Mountjoy prison in the 1860’s and the men involved were tried at the Cork Commission of December 1865 and January 1866. 

Content:

Black and white copies of photographs with attached information identifying the person involved, their home area and other relevant details. The photographs are listed alphabetically by surname.

Access & Use

Email:  specialcollectionsarchives@ucc.ie

Finding Aid: Item descriptions (see separate tab above, next to 'Home' tab)

Additional Collection Information

Language: English

Copyright: National Archives of Ireland