Skip to main content

Library Re-opening

UCC Library is committed to reopening both Boole and Brookfield libraries as soon as it is safe to do so: the safety of library users and staff is the chief guiding principle. Read more about our plans and schedule for re-opening our Libraries .

Francis S. Mahony Collection: Home

About the Collection

Collection Ref.:             IE BL/SC/FSM
Title:                            Francis S. Mahony Collection
Dates:                           1855 - 1879
Level of description:    Item
Extent:                          5 items
 
Administrative History:
IE BL/PP/LH is the Francis S. Mahony Collection held in UCC Library. This collection was acquired by Mr. Crónán Ó Doibhlin, Head of Research Collections, for UCC Library in September 2018.
 
Biographical History:
Francis Sylvester Mahony (1804-1866) was born in Cork, was also known under the pen name of  "Father Prout" was a humourist and journalist. Further information https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Francis_Sylvester_Mahony

Content: 

Autographed ms copy of the final verse of the poem "The Bells of Shandon" by Frank Mahony, alias Father Prout, together with four letters to a Miss Gould, two from Peter Burke, enclosing the autographed poem and discussing various matters, including references to his research on Edmund Burke, and two from J. Bernard Burke, concerning his brother Peter's illness.

Access & Use

Opening Hours: 10:00 - 12:45 Monday to Friday

Access to archival collections is by prior appointment, giving at least one week's notice in advance, by completing this online form

Email:  specialcollectionsarchives@ucc.ie

Finding Aid: Item descriptions (see separate tab above, next to 'Home' tab)

Additional Collection Information

Language: English

Copyright: UCC Library

Related Material: Publications

Mahony, Francis The reliques of Father Prout. London : James Fraser, 1836.

Mannin, Ethel Two studies in integrity : Gerald Griffin and the Rev. Francis Mahony ("Father Prout"). London : Jarrolds, [1954].

Moore, E. The bells of Shandon : with the annals of the Church of St Anne Shandon, Cork. Cork : Printed by Guy & Co. Ltd, [ca. 1890].

Collection Image

Mss of the final verse of the poem “The Bells of Shandon” by Frank Mahony, alias Father Prout

Ms of the final verse of the poem “The Bells of Shandon” by Frank Mahony, alias Father Prout