UCC Library: Irish Film Society, Cork Branch: Home

About the Collection

Collection Ref.: IE BL/LH/IFS

Title: Irish Film Society, Cork Branch Minute Book

Dates: 1959-1977

Level of description: Item

Extent: 1 item

Administrative History:

IE BL/LH/IFS is the minutes book of the Cork Branch of the Irish Film Society, donated to UCC library in 2018 by Professor Éamonn Ó Carragáin.

Biographical History:

The Irish Film Society arose out of the Dublin Film Society (1930) and the activities of the Dublin Little Theatre Guild. It presented its first screening in November 1936 and by the end of the 1940s had over 2,000 members. In addition, branches were established in various parts of the country, including Sligo, Kilkenny, Limerick, Waterford; and Cork, where the first season of films was held in 1950-51.

Many members of the branch committee formed part of Cork's cultural and educational establishment at this period, including businessman Seán Hendrick (1900-1971); UCC professor Riobárd Breatnach (1913-1975); designer, and wife of sculptor Seamus Murphy, Maighread Murphy (1919-2014); pharmacist and amateur actress Nancy McCarthy (Allitt) (1902-1988) and public servant Harry Conboye (1910-1994).

Content:

The volume consists of minutes of committee meetings of the Cork Branch of the Irish Film Society dating from 29 April 1959 to 17 April 1969, with additional notes and enclosures with dates up to 1977. Most entries are hand-written, but there are some typed minutes pasted in.

Access & Use

Access: Apply via online Request Form during the opening times of Special Collections and Archives

Email: specialcollectionsarchives@ucc.ie

Finding Aid: Item description (see separate tab above, next to 'Home' tab)

Additional Collection Information

Language: English

Related Material: Liam O'Leary Archive (National Library of Ireland Ms 50,000)

Nancy McCarthy Collection (BL/PP/NMC)

Dr Joan Byrne Collection (BL/LH/B)

Cork Film Festival Programmes in Munster Printing, Special Collections.

Collection Image

Entry from Irish Film Society, Cork Branch minute book (BL/LH/IFS), Special General Meeting 5 February 1960.