Skip to main content

UCC Library now Re-opened.

Both Boole and Brookfield BHSL Libraries have re-opened with the safety of Library users and staff as our chief guiding principle.

Please see our policies and important changes regarding re-opening here

Update from our Director of Library Services, Colette McKenna regarding Library Services During COVID Level 5 - Here

John James Postcards Collection: Home

About the Collection

Collection Ref.:              IE BL/VC/JJ
Title:                            John James Postcards Collection
Dates:                             [1890-1960]
Level of description:     Item
Extent:                           8 Albums
 
Administrative History:
The Collection was donated to the archive by Mr John James in 2017. Mr James is an avid collector of postcards, and personally compiled the collection over a number of years.
 

Content:

The collection consists of 8 albums of postcards, all from towns and villages in Cork County. 2 of the albums contain postcards solely from Kinsale, and 1 contains postcards solely from Cork City. All of the cards date from the late 19th century and early 20th century, and provide a unique glimpse into the social and ethnographic history of Ireland at this time.

 

Access & Use

Opening Hours: 11:00-13:00 & 14:00-16:30 Monday to Friday

Access to archival collections is by prior appointment, giving at least one week's notice in advance, to holders of UCC Readers Ticket

Email:  specialcollectionsarchives@ucc.ie

Finding Aid: Descriptive list (see separate tab above, next to 'Home' tab)

Additional Collection Information

Language: English

Copyright: UCC Library (in the main). Certain copyright may retain with original creator, please check with Archivist.

Further reading: The collection features extensively in the book Love from Cork: Postcards of the City and County, by Perry O'Donovan. 

Collection Image