Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

UCC Library now Re-opened.

Both Boole and Brookfield BHSL Libraries have re-opened with the safety of Library users and staff as our chief guiding principle.

Please see our policies and important changes regarding re-opening here

Update from our Director of Library Services, Colette McKenna regarding Library Services During COVID Level 5 - Here

Professor Riobáird P. Breathnach Collection: Home

About the Collection

Collection Ref.:             IE BL/PP/RB
Title:                            Prof. Riobáird P. Breathnach Collection
Dates:                            1930 - 1984
Level of description:    Item
Extent:                          6 boxes 
 
Administrative History:

A collection containing Professor Riobáird Breathanch’s working academic papers, chiefly compiled during his tenure as Professor of Old and Middle English at UCC. Material is primarily concerned with Anglo-Saxon, Medieval, and Modern English, as well as Medieval and Modern Irish. 

Biographical History:

Professor Riobáird Breathnach (1913-17 June 1975) was Professor of Old and Middle English from 1967 until his retirement in 1972. 

Content:

The collection is divided into four series; Academic papers, Printed Publications, Material belonging to Cormac Breathnach, and Miscellaneous material which doesn’t fit into the other series. Within each series, the collection is organised further by material type.

Access & Use

Email:  specialcollectionsarchives@ucc.ie

Finding Aid: Descriptive list (see separate tab above, next to 'Home' tab)

Additional Collection Information

Language: Old, Middle and Modern English, and Old and Modern Irish.

Copyright: UCC Library (in the main). Publications may rest with original copyright holder, please check with Archivist.