Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

UCC Library now Re-opened.

Both Boole and Brookfield BHSL Libraries have re-opened with the safety of Library users and staff as our chief guiding principle.

Please see our policies and important changes regarding re-opening here

Update from our Director of Library Services, Colette McKenna regarding Library Services During COVID Level 5 - Here

Seán O'Faolain/Major Gerald Fox Collection: Home

About the Collection

Collection Ref.:             IE BL/L/GF
Title:                            Seán O'Faolain/Major Gerald Fox Collection
Dates:                           1949 - 1959
Level of description:    File
Extent:                          248 items
 
Administrative History:
These archives were donated to UCC Library by Edmund (Eddie) Fox, the son of Major Fox, in March 2009.
 
Biographical History: 
The Irish writer Seán O’Faolain corresponded with Major Gerald F. Fox (Town Clerk), Tenby, Wales, during the former’s research on his work Newman’s Way: The Odyssey of John Henry Newman (1952). Newman’s younger brother Charles Robert Newman had resided in Tenby for over 25 years and is buried there.

Content: 

The papers consist of two files containing correspondence between O’Faolain and Fox. There is a number of newspapers cuttings and articles by O’Faolain from The Listener and The Observer. During the course of correspondence both men formed a friendship and corresponded a number years after the book was published.

Access & Use

Email: specialcollectionsarchives@ucc.ie

Finding Aid: File description (see separate tab above, next to 'Home' tab)

Additional Collection Information

Language: English

Copyright: UCC Library

Collection Image

 Seán O'Faolain/Major Gerald Fox Correspondence