Skip to main content

UCC Library now Re-opened.

Both Boole and Brookfield BHSL Libraries have re-opened with the safety of Library users and staff as our chief guiding principle.

Please see our policies and important changes regarding re-opening here

(William) Liam Healy Collection: Home

About the Collection

Collection Ref.:             IE BL/PP/LH
Title:                            (William) Liam Healy Collection
Dates:                           1923 - 1971
Level of description:    Item
Extent:                          7 items
 
Administrative History:
IE BL/PP/LH is the (William) Liam Healy Collection held in UCC Library. This collection was deposited in March 2002 by Mr. John O’Connell, Donoughmore, Co. Cork. In May 2010, more items were donated by Mrs. Margaret Cooley, Youghal, Co. Cork on behalf of Maurice Healy, a nephew of William Healy.  These are item numbers 5-7 on the item list below.
 
Biographical History:
Born at LackabawnDonoughmore c. 1900, Healy joined in 1918 the Irish Volunteers, becoming a member of E Company 1st Battalion Cork No. 1 Brigade. He was involved in the attacks on Blarney Police Barracks and the attack on all City Police Barracks in Cork City in 1921. At the outbreak of the Civil War, he joined the Republican side. Captured by Free State forces, he was court-martialled on a charge of possession of arms and was executed by firing squad on 13 March 1923. He is buried at Donoghmore Co. Cork.

Content: 

Memorabilia relating to Liam Healy. 

Access & Use

Opening Hours: 10:00 - 12:45 Monday to Friday

Access to archival collections is by prior appointment, giving at least one week's notice in advance, by completing this online form

Email:  specialcollectionsarchives@ucc.ie

Finding Aid: Item descriptions (see separate tab above, next to 'Home' tab)

Additional Collection Information

Language: English

Copyright: UCC Library

Collection Image

   Excerpt from a letter from Healy to his father