The Arbois de Jubainville Collection consists of 304 items which are mostly books with some pamphlets. The collection contains material in French, German, Manx, Breton, Cornish, Welsh, Irish Gaelic and Scots Gaelic. Material in the collection dates from 1707 – 1918 and subject matter includes Celtic studies, religious thought, antiquities and folklore.
The collection prefix before the call number is: Arbois.
In 1907 the then University President Bertram Windle acquired the collection for UCC. The purchase had been recommended by Mr Best and Prof. Kuno Meyer. Items in the collection have the bookplate of D'Arbois de Jubainville.
Mons. H. D'Arbois de Jubainville (1827-1910) was a noted Celtic scholar. He attained a Degree of Palaeographic Archivist at the age of 24 and was in charge of the departmental archives in Aube. He retired from there in 1880. He produced several historical works e.g. Histoire de Ducs et Comtes de Champagne. For the remainder of his life he devoted himself entirely to the study of the Celtic Language and Literature. In 1882 he was appointed the first Professor of Celtic in the College de France. In 1908 he published his lectures in 12 volumes Cours de Litterature Celtique. Henri Gaidoz founded Revue Celtique in 1870 but D'Arbois de Jubainville succeeded him as editor in 1886 and this continued until his death in 1910.
These wonderful block-printed endpapers are unusual if used in an 18th century French book unless the item is bound in Alsace. Henri d'Arbois de Jubainville was from Lorraine which is quite close to Alsace. On the endpapers are Arbois de Jubainville's bookplate and the Robert Gibbings designed bookplate of the Library of University College Cork. View this item in the online exhibition Matters French.
Pelloutier, Simon. Histoire des Celtes, et particulièrement des Gaulois et des Germains: depuis les tems fabuleux, jusqu’à la prise de Rome par les Gaulois. Paris: Quillau, 1771.
Martin, Jacques. Histoire des Gaules et des conquêtes des Gaulois: depuis leur origine jusqu'à la fondation de la monarchie françoise; ouvrage enrichi de monumens antiques & de cartes géographiques. Paris: Impr. de Le Breton, 1752-54.
Miorec de Kerdanet, Daniel Louis Olivier Marie. Notices chronologiques sur les théologiens, jurisconsultes, philosophes, artistes, littérateurs, poètes, bardes, troubadours et historiens de la Bretagne : depuis le commencement de l'ère chrétienne jusqu'à nos jours. Brest: Michel, 1818.
Bertrand, Alexander. Les voies romaines en Gaule, voies des itinéraires : Résumé du travail de la Commission de la topographie des Gaules. Paris: Didier et Cie, 1864.
