UCC Library: Asian Studies: Books & eBooks

Books for Asian Studies in UCC Library

Asian Studies includes a wide range of subject areas - from philosophy and religion to politics, commerce and culture. UCC Library uses the 'Dewey Decimal' system to arrange the books by subject. Doing a keyword search should help you find books of relevance.

For example:

181 Eastern philosophy
294 Buddhism
330 Economics
952 Japan

Recommend a Book for the Library

You can recommend a book for UCC Library to purchase. Click here and fill out the e-proposal form.

How to Find a Print Book

Use the Library Catalogue to find books and eBooks. Note:
Location: what floor it is on

Call number: where it is shelved - see the book's spine

Status: is it available or currently on loan?

More information here

E-books

You can choose to search for e-books only on the E-journals & E-books page - see:

Alternatively you can browse by subject:

Most of UCC Library's e-books can be located through the Library Catalogue. A 'view online' link is provided to the e-book, for example:

It is also possible to keyword search e-book databases. E-book databases relevant for Asian Studies include:

ACLS Humanities E-Book This link opens in a new window
This resource is an online collection of over 5,700 books of high quality in the Humanities, accessible through institutional and individual subscription. HEB was launched in September 2002.
Ebook Central (Academic Complete) This link opens in a new window
The Ebook Central resource now incorporates a subscription to the Academic Complete titles package, which provides UCC Library with full text access to over 200,000 ebooks, across a broad range of subject areas.
UCC Library owns over 2,900 of the titles available on Ebook Central.

Online Reference Works

Encyclopedia of Buddhism This link opens in a new window
This resource describes the Buddhist world view, basic teachings and practices of Buddhism, as well as its different schools and sects.
Robert E. Buswell, Jr., ed. (2004)
New York: Macmillan Reference USA, 982 pages, 2 vols.
Encyclopedia of Religion This link opens in a new window
This resource presents a cross-cultural approach that emphasizes religion's role within everyday life and as a unique experience from culture to culture.
Lindsay Jones, ed. (2005)
2nd ed., Detroit: Macmillan Reference USA, 10,735 pages, 15 vols.
International Encyclopedia of Human Geography (2nd ed.) This link opens in a new window
This resource embraces diversity by design and captures the ways in which humans share places and view differences based on gender, race, nationality, location and other factors—in other words, the things that make people and places different.
Copyright © 2020 Elsevier Ltd.
Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new window
Oxford Reference brings together language and subject reference works from one of the world's biggest reference publishers into a single cross-searchable resource.
Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy This link opens in a new window
This resource supports the research, teaching and study of philosophy and related disciplines.

New Books

Would you like to be alerted by email to new books received in the Library in your subject area? Just log into your Library Account on the Library Catalogue and save your search.

Asian Studies: Books & eBooks