UCC Library: Asian Studies: Journals & Databases

Finding Journals & E-journals

Find specific electronic journals and e-books by searching the E-Journals Portal

Search the Library Catalogue to find printed journals

What is an Academic Journal?

A 'journal' or 'periodical' or 'serial' = any publication published regularly (includes magazines, newspapers, newsletters).

A ‘scholarly’ or 'academic’ journal: periodical containing research articles, that is peer-reviewed, and aimed at researchers.

Peer review: every paper/article submitted to the journal is reviewed by independent experts. Papers are accepted/rejected based on quality.

Databases to Start With:

Databases help you discover what has been published in the journals, in your area of research. The following are good starting points for a literature search for your topic:

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete is a scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database. The database features PDF content dating back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in searchable PDF format.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Business Source Complete is a scholarly business database, providing a collection of bibliographic and full text content, including Marketline Reports. It also contains SWOT analyses.
Business Source Complete does not contain comprehensive company financial reports but it is still a good source of company information.
Cambridge Core This link opens in a new window
Cambridge Core is the online content delivery service for Cambridge University Press’s collection of journals and books across the sciences, social sciences and humanities.

For the period July 2023 - June 2024, UCC has access to an additional 47,400 eBooks on the Cambridge Core platform.
Directory of Open Access Journals This link opens in a new window
This resource contains over 9 million articles from over 20,000 journals.
Ebook Central (Academic Complete) This link opens in a new window
The Ebook Central resource now incorporates a subscription to the Academic Complete titles package, which provides UCC Library with full text access to over 200,000 ebooks, across a broad range of subject areas.
UCC Library owns over 2,900 of the titles available on Ebook Central.
KCI - Korean Journal Database This link opens in a new window
Provides access to articles from multidisciplinary journals covered in KCI. KCI is managed by the National Research Foundation of Korea and contains bibliographic information for scholarly literature published in Korea.

KCI covers the period from 1980 to present and includes content from over 2,000 journals. Data is searchable in both Korean and English.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Project MUSE was launched in 1995 by the Johns Hopkins University Press to offer the full text of JHUP scholarly journals online. In 1999, Muse expanded to become a unique partnership of not-for-profit publishers, increasing its ability to offer essential periodicals in the humanities, the arts, and the social sciences.
This resource provides access to the full text of over 700 journal titles.
ProQuest Databases This link opens in a new window
This is an A-Z list of most of our ProQuest databases. These resources provide access to millions of full text articles from thousands of scholarly journals, as well as access to more than 50,000 full text dissertations.
Web of Science Core Collection This link opens in a new window
This resource allows the user to search the world’s leading scholarly journals, books and proceedings in the sciences, social sciences, and arts & humanities, as well as navigate the full citation network.

The Web of Science Core Collection covers the period from 1945 to present.
Features include:
> All cited references for all publications are fully indexed and searchable.
> Search across all authors and all author affiliations.
> Track citation activity with Citation Alerts.
> See citation activity and trends graphically with Citation Report.
> Use Analyze Results to identify trends and publication patterns.
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts provides abstracts and indexing of the international literature of political science and international relations, along with complementary fields, including international law and public administration/policy. The database provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 750 core serials publications and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, and working papers.
Coverage: 1975 - current

OneSearch

OneSearch searches across a lot of the Library print AND electronic resources at the same time, including:

Library Catalogue
Journals
Databases
Books, eBooks
Newspaper articles
Theses
Open Access resources

Information on how to use OneSearch

OneSearch Guide for Users
Information from Ex Libris on their Summon product (known as OneSearch in UCC Library)

Advanced Search Tips for OneSearch
Tips on how to make the best use of OneSearch

OneSearch

Open Access Journals

JURN Directory
3,000 links to selected open access or otherwise free ejournals in the arts & humanities

Directory of Open Access Journals This link opens in a new window
This resource contains over 9 million articles from over 20,000 journals.

Theses & Newspapers

For access to UCC theses and theses from other Universities refer to the Theses Guide

For information about Newspapers in UCC Library, and newspapers available through Library databases, see the Newspapers Guide

ProQuest Dissertations & Theses A&I This link opens in a new window
Central authoritative resource for North American theses with significant European content. This database is the world’s most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1743 to the present day. To note, this database also includes the most comprehensive available record of doctoral theses from the United Kingdom and Ireland.
Access to:
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses A&I: Business
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses A&I: Health & Medicine
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses A&I: History
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses A&I: Literature & Language
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses A&I: Science & Technology
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses A&I: Social Sciences
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses A&I: The Arts