Job Opportunity: Head of Digital Services, UCC Library

01/14/2022

Martin O'Connor

No Subjects

UCC Library wishes to appoint an experienced administrator to the role of Head of Digital Systems. The Head of Digital Systems (Library) will lead a team of library and technology specialists in developing UCC Library’s digital library infrastructure, metadata services, discovery services, and digital asset management capacity.

The post-holder will oversee and further develop the following functions: library systems and support services; electronic resources; cataloguing & metadata. The position will define and articulate the vision, strategic directions, and priorities for library systems and digital services in a dynamic environment that values creativity, teamwork, and innovation.

This is a great opportunity to grow and develop an amazing team.

Closing Date 15 February, 2022. Details and application at http://ore.ucc.ie.

No Tags

Similar Posts

View All Posts

Special Collections & Archives Launches Its First Colouring Book

02/08/2022

Mary Keane

0 Comments

From 7-11 February 2022 UCC Library's Special Collections & Archives launches its first colouring book as part of the annual international colouring festival on social media. We're sharing #ColorOurCollections images to spread awareness and better engagement with our collections by inspiring creativity and sparking curiosity.

Over the course of the week Elaine Harrington, John Rooney, Emma Horgan and Emer Twomey will share a series of #ColorOurCollections blog posts discussing how the process works.

Access the colouring book directly: #ColourOurCollections

Share your creations with us: #ColourOurCollections @UCCLibrary @theriversideUCC

No Subjects

Green Campus initiative - Boole Library New Reading Rooms closing weekends to reduce energy consumption

10/19/2021

Martin O'Connor

0 Comments

UCC Library continues to operate the longest opening hours of any academic library in the country, with the Boole Library open from 7:30am – 1:30am seven days a week. As part of UCC Library’s on-going commitment to UCC’s Green Campus initiative and our responsible use of energy consumption within library buildings, we have made a small change to Reading Room access over the weekends. This change is introduced as a pilot project to explore the impact on energy costs.

As of Friday 15th October, the New Reading Rooms on Q+1, Q+2 and Q+3 of the Boole Library Building close from 8pm on Friday evenings until 7:30am on Monday mornings. The areas impacted are indicated in blue on the following maps: Q+1, Q+2 and Q+3.

Over 1200 bookable study spaces will still be available for Library users. All other Library spaces such as the Creative Zone and Group Study rooms also remain available for student use.

Access to the library’s collections is unaffected. The Library will continue to review patterns of usage of the library building and will reinstate weekend access to the new reading rooms prior to examinations period.

Brookfield Health Sciences Library is unaffected.

No Subjects

UCC Library Newsletter - October 2021

10/18/2021

Martin O'Connor

0 Comments

The latest newsletter from UCC Library is now available. Please click through for information about Library opening hours, new services and staff, Special Collections, Workshops, as well as some tips for getting the best out of UCC library.

No Subjects