Skip to Main Content

Bookplate Collection: Home

Themed collection of items with bookplates.

About the Collection

Bookplates not only help us to establish the provenance of books and collections, but they are also visual representations of an individual's or a family's identity. Bookplates were frequently designed and executed by well-known artists. Bookplates can also tell us about associations between artists and institutions or individuals as patrons and benefactors.

The Bookplate Collection was formed by selecting items with bookplates across general collections. There are 40 items in the collection ranging from mid-19th century to early 20th century. Material in English and French is present in the collection. The subject matter of the collection is predominantly religious and historical in nature.

The collection prefix before the call number is: Bookplate.

The collection is open.

More Information

Collection Highlights

Ex Libris Bookplate

Countess of Munster. My memories and miscellanies. London: Eveleigh Nash, 1904.

Bookplate Collection item has bookplate of A. M. Broadley.

Armorial Bookplate: John Rankin

Graham, Henry. The social life of Scotland in the eighteenth century. London: Adam and Charles Black, 1899.

Bookplate Collection item has bookplate of John Rankin with motto "Prudentia et virtute".

Armorial Bookplate: Sir Alfred Newton

Betts, John. The story of the Irish Society: being a brief historical account of the foundation and work of the Honourable the Irish Society of London. London: Irish Chamber, 1921.

Bookplate Collection item has the armorial bookplate of Sir Alfred Newton Bart. Governor of the Honourable the Irish Society, with motto " Faveat Fortuna".

Ex Libris Bookplate

Rosebery, Archibald. Lord Rosebery's speeches: 1874-1896.  London: Beeman, 1896.

Bookplate Collection item has an ornate bookplate "Ex Libris".

Bookplate with motto: Fortis est qui se vincit

Smith, George Barnett. The life of the right honourable John Bright, M.P. London: Irish Society, 1889.

Bookplate Collection item has bookplate with motto "Fortis est qui se vincit".