Skip to Main Content

Cantwell Collection: Home

First editions of Yeats' published works.

About the Collection

The collection focuses on the works of WB Yeats. Many of the items within the collection are first editions.

In 2003 Eamonn Cantwell donated his magnificent collection of books by Yeats to UCC.

The collection prefix before the call number is: Cantwell.

The collection is open.

Biographical History

Eamonn Cantwell is a UCC alumnus with a degree in Electrical Engineering (1960). Following his degree he joined the ESB and developed the overseas consultancy business, ESB International. Inspired by the late Gus Martin of University College Dublin and a regular attender at the Yeats International Summer School, Eamonn Cantwell became a fastidious international collector of Yeats first editions. On his retirement from ESB International in 1997 he undertook a MPhil in Anglo-Irish Literature. He was awarded a Doctorate from Trinity College Dublin for his thesis on Yeats’s reception in Ireland: ‘“To Write for My Own Race”: The Irish Response to Yeats in his Lifetime’ (2003).

Collection Highlights

W. B. Yeats' Poems (1895)

Poems is bound in linen cloth and gilded on the front and the rear boards, depicting a winged warrior standing on a writhing serpent with Art Nouveau floral designs on either side of him. Granville Fell designed the panels and of it Yeats said "The man who made this cover made a beautiful design, which I saw at an exhibition, but after I saw it Dent had spoilt him, with all kinds of oddjobs & when he did this the spirit had gone out of him. I hate this expression-less angel of his."

Yeats, W.B. Poems. London: T.Fisher Unwin; Boston: Copeland and Day, 1895.

Front cover to 'The Green Helmet'

Yeats, W. B.  The green helmet: an heroic farce. Stratford-upon-Avon: Shakespeare Head Press, 1911.

Opening Hours

  • All rooms: Monday-Friday 11:00-16:30.
  • Microform & Reference Reading Room: Wednesday: 11:00-19:15 (Semester Only*).
  • Closed: Weekends, Public Holidays & Christmas Week.

*Excluding January and Easter Recess.

 

For further details see the Library Calendar.

 

We are open to UCC staff and students, and members of the public. For more information about what items must be requested and to request them via the online request form see Request Special Collections & Archives.

 

If you have any queries relating to our collections please email specialcollectionsarchives@ucc.ie