Skip to Main Content

De Courcy Ireland Collection: Home

Personal library of John De Courcy Ireland

About the Collection

The collection includes works on: exploration & voyages, countries, ports, war at sea, ships, disaster & wrecks, underwater exploration, sea & sailing, seamanship, communications, law of the sea, lifeboats & safety, natural resources, pollution, art, literature, miscellaneous. The collection is predominantly 20th century material with c.70 items from 17th – 19th centuries. Languages: French, Dutch, Spanish.

The collection of maritime works was donated in 1988-89.

The collection prefix before the call number is: De Courcy Ireland.

The collection is closed.

Biographical History

Dr John de Courcy Ireland (1911-2006) was a maritime historian and broadcaster.

Collection Highlights

Book cover to 'The book of fantastic boats'

Coombs, Ray and Christine Bernard. The book of fantastic boats. London: Octopus Books, 1975.

Annotated title page to 'The principal navigations, voyages, traffiques & discoveries of the English nation'

Hakluyt, Richard. The principal navigations, voyages, traffiques & discoveries of the English nation. London: J.M. Dent & co.; New York: E.P. Dutton & co., [1907?].

Annotations on the page are by John De Courcy Ireland.

Two newspaper clippings from the 1950s and 1970s

Hakluyt, Richard. The principal navigations, voyages, traffiques & discoveries of the English nation. London: J.M. Dent & co.; New York: E.P. Dutton & co., [1907?].

Newspaper clippings pasted to flyleaves by John De Courcy Ireland.

Two newspaper clippings from the 1960s and the 1970s

Hakluyt, Richard. The principal navigations, voyages, traffiques & discoveries of the English nation. London: J.M. Dent & co.; New York: E.P. Dutton & co., [1907?].

Newspaper clippings pasted to flyleaves by John De Courcy Ireland.

Book cover to 'The Scholars'

Ching-Tzu, Wu. The Scholars. Translated by Yang Xianyi and Gladys Yang. Peking: Foreign Languages Press, 1957.

Front cover to 'The wonder book of ships'

The wonder book of ships. With eight colour plates and nearly 300 illustrations. London and Melbourne: Ward, Lock & Co., [1936?].

More Information