UCC Library: Film and Screen Media: Journals & Databases

Finding Journals & E-journals

Find specific electronic journals and e-books by searching the E-Journals Portal

Search the Library Catalogue to find printed journals

What is an Academic Journal?

A 'journal' or 'periodical' or 'serial' = any publication published regularly (includes magazines, newspapers, newsletters).

A ‘scholarly’ or 'academic’ journal: periodical containing research articles, that is peer-reviewed, and aimed at researchers.

Peer review: every paper/article submitted to the journal is reviewed by independent experts. Papers are accepted/rejected based on quality.

Databases to Start With:

Databases allow you to discover what has been published in the journals, in your area of research. The following are good starting points for a literature search for your research topic:

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete is a scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database. The database features PDF content dating back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in searchable PDF format.
Literature Online This link opens in a new window
Literature Online runs from the 8th Century to the 21st Century and includes 350,000 works of poetry, drama and prose, as well as articles from over 430 journals.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Project MUSE was launched in 1995 by the Johns Hopkins University Press to offer the full text of JHUP scholarly journals online. In 1999, Muse expanded to become a unique partnership of not-for-profit publishers, increasing its ability to offer essential periodicals in the humanities, the arts, and the social sciences.
This resource provides access to the full text of over 800 journal titles.
ProQuest Databases This link opens in a new window
This is an A-Z list of most of our ProQuest databases. These resources provide access to millions of full text articles from thousands of scholarly journals, as well as access to more than 50,000 full text dissertations.
Screen Studies Collection This link opens in a new window
The result of distinguished partnerships with the British Film Institute (BFI), the International Federation of Film Archives (FIAF) and the American Film Institute (AFI), these three databases are cornerstone resources for research in film.
Coverage dates back to 1893.

Reference Resources

Britannica Academic This link opens in a new window
This resource provides access to more than 100,000 articles.
Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new window
Oxford Reference brings together language and subject reference works from one of the world's biggest reference publishers into a single cross-searchable resource.
UK & Ireland Reference Centre This link opens in a new window
This resource combines British and Irish sources with international sources to create the most complete collection of full text research publications for UK/Irish libraries.

Theses & Newspapers

For access to UCC theses and theses from other Universities have a look at the Theses Guide. For information about Newspapers in UCC Library, and newspapers available through Library databases, see the Newspapers Guide.

ProQuest Dissertations & Theses A&I This link opens in a new window
Central authoritative resource for North American theses with significant European content. This database is the world’s most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1743 to the present day. To note, this database also includes the most comprehensive available record of doctoral theses from the United Kingdom and Ireland.
Access to:
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses A&I: Business
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses A&I: Health & Medicine
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses A&I: History
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses A&I: Literature & Language
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses A&I: Science & Technology
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses A&I: Social Sciences
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses A&I: The Arts

Alphaville: Journal of Film and Screen Media, UCC

Alphaville: Journal of Film and Screen Media, UCC
Alphaville is a fully peer-reviewed online journal edited and published by staff, PhD and postdoctoral researchers in Film and Screen Media at University College Cork, Ireland.

Bright Lights Film Journal

George Brown’s original logo for online Bright Lights

Bright Lights
Online film magazine featuring photos, combining popular and academic styles, with humour and progressive politics

Senses of Cinema

Australian-based online journal, published quarterly.