UCC Library: Geography: Books & eBooks

Sourcing Books from Other Libraries

New Books

Would you like to be alerted by email to new books received in the Library in your subject area? Just log into your Library Account on the Library Catalogue and save your search. See the instructions for Preferred Searches and email alerts here.

Recommend a Book for the Library

You can recommend a book for UCC Library to purchase. Click here and fill out the e-proposal form.

How to Find a Print Book

Use the Library Catalogue to find books and eBooks. Note:
Location: what floor it is on

Call number: where it is shelved - see the book's spine

Status: is it available or currently on loan?

More information here

Books for Geography at UCC Library

UCC Library uses the 'Dewey Decimal' system. Geography books can be found on all floors of the Library. Use the Library Catalogue to locate books. Some useful numbers include:

Geology 550-551
Climatology 551.6
Human Geography 304.2
Economic Geography 330.9
Urban Geography 307.76
Political Geography 320.1
Physical Geography 910
Historical Geography 911

You can search the catalogue here:

eBooks

You can choose to search for e-books only on the E-journals & E-books page - see:

or browse by subject:

Most of UCC Library's eBooks can be located through the Library catalogue. A 'view online' link is provided to the eBook, example:

It is also possible to keyword search e-book databases. E-book databases relevant for Geography include:

ACLS Humanities E-Book This link opens in a new window
This resource is an online collection of over 6,109 books of high quality in the Humanities, accessible through institutional and individual subscription. HEB was launched in September 2002.
Earth & Environmental Science eBook Collection This link opens in a new window
UCC Library has previously purchased full text access to 234 titles in the 2012 Earth & Environmental Science eBook Collection. This additional collection offers access to over 2,200 titles, which were published during the period 2021- 2024.

This resource is available until July 2025.
Ebook Central (Academic Complete) This link opens in a new window
The Ebook Central resource now incorporates a subscription to the Academic Complete titles package, which provides UCC Library with full text access to over 234,000 ebooks, across a broad range of subject areas.
UCC Library owns over 3,000 of the titles available on Ebook Central.

Online Reference Books

Britannica Academic This link opens in a new window
This resource provides access to more than 100,000 articles.

Research Tools include World Atlas, a Comparison tool and World Data Analyst

A Dictionary of Geography
Containing over 6,400 entries on all aspects of both human and physical geography, this best-selling dictionary is the most comprehensive single-volume reference work of its kind.
Encyclopedia of lakes and reservoirs: geography, geology, hydrology and paleolimnology
offers a comprehensive and authoritative review of physical, chemical and ecological characteristics of lakes and reservoirs, as well as describing their uses and environmental conditions and trends in all parts of the world.
Encyclopedia of Quaternary science
Research in the Quaternary sciences has advanced greatly in the last 10 years, especially since topics like global climate change, geologic hazards and soil erosion were put high on the political agenda. This second edition builds upon its award-winning predecessor to provide the reader assured quality along with essential updated coverage
Contains 357 broad-ranging articles (4310 pages) written at a level that allows undergraduate students to understand the material, while providing active researchers with a ready reference resource for information in the field.
The international encyclopedia of geography : people, the earth, environment, and technology
Contains more than 1,000 entries ranging from 1,000 to 10,000 words offering accessible introductions to basic concepts, sophisticated explanations of complex topics, and information on geographical societies around the world
Provides definitive coverage of the field, encompassing human geography, physical geography, geographic information science and systems, earth studies, and environmental science
Brings together interdisciplinary perspectives on geographical topics and techniques of interest across the social sciences, humanities, science, and medicine
[Online]
International encyclopedia of human geography
provides an authoritative and comprehensive source of information on the discipline of human geography and its constituent, and related, subject areas.

Special Collections & Archives

Special Collections is home to UCC's unique collections of literary manuscripts, early printed books pre-1850, books from presses, collections donated from individuals, 18th - 20^th century newspapers, theses, maps, pamphlets and microfilm. See the Special Collections Library Guide.

Check the Special Collections' website to learn more about specific holdings at Special Collections, UCC Library including impressive examples of historical maps.