Skip to Main Content

Glucksman Collection: Home

About the Collection

The collection comprises works relating to travel. The collection is predominantly a modern one.

The collection prefix before the call number is: Glucksman.

The collection is closed.

Biographical History

Lewis L. Glucksman (1925-2006) was a former Lehman Brothers trader and former chief executive officer and chairman of Lehman Brothers Inc. He was a noted philanthropist in Ireland stemming from his role as a trustee of New York University to promote academic relationships between Irish academia and NYU. He established a home in Cobh, County Cork in 1984 with his wife Loretta Brennan Glucksman and lived there from 1999.

Provenance

The collection was donated by Lewis L Glucksman in 2005/2006 with a second tranche donated by Loretta Brennan Glucksman.

Collection Highlights

Adventures of Johnny - Rowlandson plate

Glucksman Collection copy bound in marbled boards with leather spine and gilt lettering.

 

The adventures of Johnny Newcome in the Navy : a poem in 4 cantos, with plates by Rowlandson from the author's design / by Alfred Burton.

Narrative of a voyage to the Pacific and Beering's [sic] Strait

Glucksman copies have armorial bookplates of the Carton Library and a library arrangement sticker showing book case and shelf number. 

Quarto edition, published same year as octavo edition.
Sabin 4347.
Glucksman Collection copies bound in tooled leather with gilt spines and marbled endpapers.

 

Narrative of a voyage to the Pacific and Beering's [sic] Strait

Greenwich Hospital

Title vignette.
First edition.

Book bound by RR Donnelly & sons, CHicago with acid free leather specially manufactured according the recommendation of the Society of Arts Committee on Bookbinding. 

 

Greenwich hospital : a series of naval sketches, descriptive of the life of a man-of-war's man / By an old sailor. With illustrations by George Cruikshank

The Living Sea

 

 

The living sea / by Jacques Cousteau ; with James Dugan.

Endpapers

 

Notes on endpapers

An historical account of the Royal Hospital for Seamen at Greenwich : M, DCC, LXXXIX

TP

TP

An historical account of the Royal Hospital for Seamen at Greenwich : M, DCC, LXXXIX