Skip to Main Content

Green Coat School Collection: Home

Library from the 18th century Cork school.

About the Collection

The collection contains political books and pamphlets, especially concerning the Catholic-Protestant relationship, items on theology, philosophy and ethics. The collection has c.280 books of which 10 are from the 16th century with the remainder from the 17th-18th centuries. Languages of items in the collections include Latin, Spanish and Irish. 

The collection prefix before the call number is: Green Coat School.

About the Green Coat School

The school started as a private foundation for the children of poor Protestant families on Cork city’s northside. It was so called because the uniform was a green coat and cap. This school and the Cork Blue Coat School became closely linked to the city and to public charity. Both schools were vocationally oriented.

Provenance

The collection was donated by the Select Vestry of St Luke’s in 1999.

Collection Highlights

Sheriff Croker’s signature on end-papers of 'A Relation of the Conference betweene William Lawd'

Laud, William. A Relation of the Conference betweene William Lawd: then Lrd Bishop of St. Davids, now Lord Arch-Bishop of Canterbvry, and Mr Fisher the Jesuite, by the command of King James of ever blessed memorie. With an answer to such exceptions as A.C. takes against it. / by the said Most Reverend Father in God, William, Lord Arch-Bishop of Canterbury. London: Printed by Richard Badger, MDCXXXIX, [1639].

Manuscript fragments in the spine binding of 'The Lives of the Noble Grecians and Romanes'

Plutarch. The Lives of the Noble Grecians and Romanes / compared together by that graue learned philosopher and historiographer, Plutarke of Chaeronea; translated out of Greeke into French by Iames Amyot … and out of French into Englishe by Thomas North. London: Imprinted by Thomas Vautroullier and Iohn VVight, 1579.

Links/More Information