Skip to main content

For information on remote access to Library Services and Collections during the University closure, please visit this Guide.

Please view a list of temporary additions to our eBook and other online collections.

History of Art: Books & E-books

Books for History of Art at UCC Library

UCC Library uses the 'Dewey Decimal' system. Some of the main classification numbers of relevance to History of Art include:

700 The arts; fine & decorative arts
708 Galleries, museums & private collections
709 Historical, geographic & persons treatment
720 Architecture
730 Plastic arts; sculpture
740 Drawing & decorative arts
745 Decorative arts
750 Painting & paintings
760 Graphic arts; printmaking & prints
770 Photography, photographs & computer art

Books at these numbers are shelved on the Q+3 floor. Use the Library Catalogue to locate books. f is used to denote a larger (folio) book which won't fit on the main shelves - this is true of a lot of Art books. They will be found in the Folio section - these shelves are clearly marked "Folio".

 

You can search the catalogue here:

High Demand Books

Books that are in high demand are held in the High Demand Books Room, on the ground (Q) floor. Self-issue & return within the room. 

You cannot take the book out of the library, but you can take it to any of the study areas within the library for up to 4 hours.

Recommend a Book for the Library

You can recommend a book for UCC Library to purchase. Click here and log in to your Library Account.

How to Find a Print Book

Use the Library Catalogue to find books and eBooks. Note:
Location: what floor it is on

Call number: where it is shelved - see the book's spine

Status: is it available or currently on loan?

eBooks

You can choose to search for e-books only on the E-journals & E-books page - see:

 

Most of UCC Library's eBooks can be located through the Library catalogue.

A 'view online' link is provided to the eBook, for example: 

 

It is also possible to search eBook databases.  eBook databases relevant for History of Art include:

Oxford Art Online

Includes:

  • Grove Art Online
  • The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms
  • Encyclopedia of Aesthetics
  • The Oxford Companion to Western Art

Oxford Reference Online

Search across 11 reference works:
The Oxford Dictionary of Art and Artists (5 ed.) 2016
The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms (2 ed.) 2016
A Dictionary of Modern and Contemporary Art (3 ed.) 2016
A Dictionary of Modern Design (2 ed.) 2016
Dictionary Plus Art and Architecture 2016
The Oxford Companion to the Garden 2006
The Oxford Companion to the Photograph 2006
The Oxford Dictionary of American Art and Artists 2007
The Oxford Dictionary of Architecture (3 ed.) 2015
The Oxford Dictionary of Art (3 ed.) updated 2011
The Oxford Companion to Western Art 2003

New Books

Would you like to be alerted by email to new books received in the Library in your subject area? Just log into your Library Account on the Library Catalogue and save your search. See the instructions for Preferred Searches and email alerts here