UCC Library: Images: Images in books & databases

Library Databases with Images

Databases available through UCC Library that provide access to images:

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete is a scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database. The database features PDF content dating back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in searchable PDF format.
Bridgeman Education This link opens in a new window
Bridgeman Education is a growing online collection of over 1 million images of art, culture and history from the best museums, archives and libraries around the world. Images are copyright-cleared for educational use for students, lecturers and researchers.

Terms of use:
1. Access to images solely by UCC staff and students for educational or research use and limited to browsing, copying and reproduction in course work, display and presentation in classroom.
2. Credit is given to every image used as: © The Bridgeman Art Library – London, New York, Paris.
For further information on the terms and conditions of use, please see https://www.bridgemaneducation.com/en/terms-and-conditions
Britannica Academic This link opens in a new window
This resource provides access to more than 100,000 articles.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR provides a comprehensive digital archive of important scholarly journals. It offers multidisciplinary and discipline-specific collections that include complete runs of journals as well as select monographs, transactions, and conference proceedings.
Access is available to the following collections: the 19th Century British Pamphlets Collection, the Arts and Sciences I to XV Collections, Business IV Collection, Global Plants Collection, Hebrew Journals Collection, the Ireland Collection, the Life Sciences Collection, Lives of Literature Collection, Public Health Journals Collection, Security Studies Collection and Sustainability Collection.
Oxford Grove Art Online This link opens in a new window
This resource provides access to the more than 6,000 subject entries, over 20,000 biographies, 40,000 image links and 7,000 searchable images.

Databases freely available without subscription

Hathi Trust
Choose advanced search, limited to photographs and pictorial works/visual material, full view only
Internet Archive book images on Flickr
The Internet Archive is building a digital library of Internet sites and other cultural artifacts in digital form. Images here come from scanned books

Finding Library books with images

Search the Library Catalogue for e.g. Van Gogh and then check the DESCRIPTION at the bottom of the record - in this example above it indicates that this book consists of chiefly coloured illustrations.

The Library's printers/photocopiers can also scan. Remember that you must comply with Copyright Legislation when copying/scanning/printing. See further information under the Copyright tab of this guide.

How to Find a Print Book

Use the Library Catalogue to find books and eBooks. Note:
Location: what floor it is on

Call number: where it is shelved - see the book's spine

Status: is it available or currently on loan?

More information here