Databases available through UCC Library that provide access to images:
Academic Search Complete is a scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database. The database features PDF content dating back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in searchable PDF format.
Bridgeman Education is a growing online collection of over 3 million images of art, culture and history from the best museums, archives and libraries around the world. Images are copyright-cleared for educational use for students, lecturers and researchers.
Terms of use:
1. Access to images solely by UCC staff and students for educational or research use and limited to browsing, copying and reproduction in course work, display and presentation in classroom.
2. Credit is given to every image used as: © The Bridgeman Art Library – London, New York, Paris.
3. Permitted educational use means preparation of coursework including lectures, notes, seminars, essays, dissertations and theses, which will be used or presented within the context of the courses or educational teaching offered by University College Cork.
This resource provides access to more than 100,000 articles, plus an expansive collection of multimedia including images, videos, audio, interactives, and infographics.
JSTOR provides a comprehensive digital archive of important scholarly journals. It offers multidisciplinary and discipline-specific collections that include complete runs of journals as well as select monographs, transactions, and conference proceedings.
Databases freely available without subscription
Search the Library Catalogue for e.g. Van Gogh and then check the DESCRIPTION at the bottom of the record - in this example above it indicates that this book consists of chiefly coloured illustrations.
The Library's printers/photocopiers can also scan. Remember that you must comply with Copyright Legislation when copying/scanning/printing. See further information under the Copyright tab of this guide.
Use the Library Catalogue to find books and eBooks. Note:
Location: what floor it is on
Call number: where it is shelved - see the book's spine
Status: is it available or currently on loan?
