Images: Art Galleries & Museums Digital Collections

'brings together the riches of America’s libraries, archives, and museums, and makes them freely available to the world'

links to over 11m images.

Browse, search and find information on the works, artists and collections of the Ateneum Art Museum, the Museum of Contemporary Art Kiasma and the Sinebrychoff Art Museum. The Finnish National Gallery has freed nearly 12 000 images licensed with the CC0 licence. Images marked CC0 can be freely used by anyone. They can be shared, modified and used in any context, including teaching, research, and commercial purposes, for example. These images are free to be used because the copyright (70 full calendar years after the death of the artist) has expired. The collections are also on Europeana

The Google Cultural Institute creates new technology to help partners publish their collections online and reach new audiences, as seen in the Google Art Project, Historic Moments and World Wonders initiatives.

This library contains digital images uploaded by Archive users which range from maps to astronomical imagery to photographs of artwork. Many of these images are available for free download.

Includes photos, prints, drawings, maps

digital collection of prints and drawings as well as their photograph collection from 1860

a virtual museum and searchable database of European fine arts from the 8th to 19th centuries

register with Bridgeman for access to more than 400,000 images.

allows users to search across several of the Getty repositories - the J. Paul Getty Museum, the Getty Conservation Institute, the Getty Foundation, and the Getty Research Institute.

Specialists in Orientalist paintings

All images of public-domain artworks in the Museum's collection are now available for free and unrestricted use under Creative Commons Zero (CC0). This enables everyone to utilize more than 375,000 images of public-domain artworks in The Met's collection in any media without permission or fee.

Search, share, and download more than 45,000 open access images.

is solely dedicated to recognizing women’s creative contributions

masterpieces from the Rijksmuseum

from East-West: the art of dialogue

you can download, share, and reuse millions of the Smithsonian’s images. With new platforms and tools, you have easier access to nearly 3 million 2D and 3D digital items from our collections—with many more to come. This includes images and data from across the Smithsonian’s 19 museums, nine research centers, libraries, archives, and the National Zoo.

Over 22,000 works online, created by more than 3,000 American artists during the twentieth and twenty-first centuries.