Skip to Main Content

Linehan Collection: Home

Personal collection of Fr Diarmuid Linehan.

About the Collection

The collection reflects the personal interest of Fr Linehan. The collection contains c.300 items with the subject matter of Irish literature and music. Many of the items are in the Irish language. Four items are from the 19th century with the remainder from the 20th century.

The collection prefix before the call number is: Linehan.

The collection is closed.

Biographical History

Very Rev. Canon Diarmuid Linehan (1934 -2013) was born in the Lough parish in Cork and attended St. Patrick's College in Maynooth where he was ordained in 1951. He retired from the parish of Clogheen/Kerry Pike in 2001. Over the course of his life had been editor of The Fold. His interest in the Irish language stemmed from his father, Richard, who had taught Irish in St. Finbarr's Seminary, Farranferris, Cork.

Collection Highlights

Book Cover to 'Cosa buidhe árda'

Finghin na Leamhna. Cosa buidhe árda. Áth Cliath: Brún agus Ó Nóláin, 1923

An Carabhan

Hauff, Wilhelm. An Carabhan. Padraic Ó Moghrain d'aistrigh o Ghermainis. [Baile Átha Cliath]: Ó Fallamhain i gcomhar le hOifig an tSoláthair, 1930.

Opening Hours

2023: 11 September - 21 December

  • All rooms: Monday-Friday 11:00-16:30.
  • Microform & Reference Reading Room: Wednesday: 11:00-19:15.

Closed: Monday 30 October.

 

We are open to UCC staff and students, and members of the public. For more information about what items must be requested and to request them via the online request form see Request Special Collections & Archives.

 

If you have any queries relating to our collections please email specialcollectionsarchives@ucc.ie