Manuscripts on microfilm include Irish language material from such major collections such as the Royal Irish Academy (RIA, 190 reels), Trinity College, Dublin (TCD, 43 reels), the National Library of Ireland (NLI, 30 reels) and Maynooth University (43 reels) as well as the British Library and Bodleian Library, Oxford. Other significant collections include the papers of several British prime ministers from the 18th and 19th centuries; the papers of Maria Edgeworth; the Carte and Carew papers; three series of British Literary Manuscripts; and historical papers from Rome and Simancas, as well as many individual manuscripts of historical interest from the National Archives of Ireland, Public Records Offices in London and Belfast, and other institutions in Ireland and abroad.
The microfilms are arranged by country, and each reel is numbered. Fuller guides to the contents are available here and in the black folders held in the Reference Reading Room. These contain listings of the manuscript material by location. Some of the individual listings are linked below, and more will be added over time. If in doubt, please contact the Special Collections and Archives Service Desk.
Many Irish language manuscripts have been digitised and are available to view on the Irish Script on Screen (ISOS) site. This includes an online version of the Book of Lismore / Leabhar Mac Cárthaigh Riabhach held in the Boole Library (right). Further information about other Irish language manuscripts held in UCC Library is available here.
Full listings of manuscripts on microfilm by location can be found in the black folders located in the Reference Reading Room. Most of these are also available here:
Irish collections include those of University College, Cork; King's Inns, Dublin; Maynooth University; the National Archives of Ireland; the National Library of Ireland; the Ordnance Survey of Ireland, the Royal Irish Academy; Trinity College, Dublin; University College, Dublin and the University of Galway. Regional libraries include some in Armagh; Belfast; other Dublin libraries; St. Colman's College, Fermoy; other Regional libraries; and Waterford.
UK collections include those of the Bodleian Library, Oxford (including the Carte papers); British Library (Museum), London; Cambridge University Library; Libraries in Edinburgh; Lambeth Library, London (Carew Papers); Other Oxford colleges; Other UK libraries and libraries in Wales.
European collections feature material in Austria, Belgium, the Czech Republic, Denmark, France, Germany, Hungary, Italy, the Netherlands, Romania, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden and Switzerland.
There are also microfilms with material from American and Australian libraries.
This document lists the UCC main series microfilm by box number, and indicates in which cabinet and drawer they can be found.
