Petty's Parish Maps/Terriers are available on microfilm, but coverage is very uneven. There are several maps of Co. Cork.
Books of Survey and Distribution: We have the Munster section on microfilm (UCC 227 and 911), with some other counties on UCC 912-914. Those for Clare, Galway, Mayo and Roscommon are in hardcopy.
Ordnance Survey Inquisitions of Cork are available on microfilm, UCC 245-246.
Griffith’s Valuation is available on hardcopy for Cork, and on microfilm for the whole country including Cork.
The largest collection of maps is the first edition Ordnance Survey (OS) Maps of Ireland.
Editions of manuscript material relating to maps, e.g. Name Books (UCC 1100-1116), Letters, OS Memoirs (UCC 228-244), are an important part of our collections.
Archaeological Survey of Irish RMP maps: We have hardcopy maps for Cork and Kerry. All the country is available on CD-ROM.
Maps of Cork include those published in Smith's History of Cork (1750); John Roque's map of Cork city from 1759; the Rev. John Lindsay's New and correct chart of the harbour of Cork (1759); the Beauford map of cork city (1801)
A portion of John Rocque (c.1704-1762), A survey of the city and suburbs of Cork, 1759
The Ordnance Survey of Ireland was established in 1824 to map all of the country for military and taxation purposes. In 2023, it was absorbed into Tailte Éireann.
Between 1825 and 1846, a team of engineers surveyed Ireland, documenting placenames and topographical features. The resulting 6-inch maps (first edition) can be found on microfiche in the Microform Room, and the individual sheets for Cork are available in the map drawers of the Reference Reading Room. The GeoHive database provides online access to a number of Ordnance Survey series. Special Collections also holds a set of the modern Discovery series (1:50,000) of maps as part of the TR collection.
Special Collections holds microfilm copies of some Ordnance Survey Memoirs and Name Books, as well as the Inquisitions for Cork. Further information is available here.
