British Parliamentary Papers are a rich resource, encompassing all areas of social, political, economic and foreign policy, showing how issues were explored and legislation was formed. They are vital to the historical record of Britain, its former Colonies, and the wider world. Topics include: emigration, famine, industry, slavery, child labour, foreign policy, economic policy and law.
The term "Parliamentary Papers" is commonly used to describe the documents making up the Sessional Papers but can apply to all the published records of the activities of the British Parliament, including Parliamentary Debates, Journals and Rolls.
Until the beginning of the 19th century no official process for preserving the papers of Parliament had been established. However, from 1801, the papers for each session of the House of Commons were bound into volumes known as the Sessional Papers (also called 'Blue Books').
Before 1969, the Sessional Papers were arranged as follows:
Bills – drafts of proposed legislation reviewed by parliament
Reports of Committees – reports from Parliamentary Committees
Reports of Commissions – reports from non-Parliamentary Committees and Commissions
Accounts and Papers – including accounts, estimates, statements of Government policy (known as 'White Papers'), state papers, treaties and returns
Since 1969 the Sessional Papers have been arranged as Bills, House Papers, and Command Papers. Prior to the 20th century many House of Lords papers were printed together with the Commons papers.
Sessional Papers in Special Collections
Guides to Sessional Papers in Special Collections
Parliamentary Debates, commonly referred to as Hansard, are a record of what members of Parliament have said. Early published debates were often derived from secondary sources and vary in accuracy. Since 1803, the debates have been printed in series. The official publication of debates by Parliament began in 1909. From this time the debates for each House were published separately and include a close to verbatim report.
Parliamentary Debates in Special Collections
Parliamentary Debates Online
The Journals, later called Votes and Proceedings for the House of Commons and Minutes and Proceedings for the House of Lords, are the recording of the daily business done in Parliament. The contents of the Journals vary through the years, but can include information on the progress of legislation, papers presented to the House, petitions, texts of motions, and other matters. The Journal of the House of Lords dates from 1510 and the Journal of the House of Commons from 1547. The rolls of parliament were the official recordings of the proceedings of Parliament from the 13th to the early 16th century.
Journals in Special Collections
Calendars of Journals in Special Collections
Indexes to Journals & Rolls in Special Collections
The Irish University Press has reprinted a selection of 19th century British Parliamentary Papers (Sessional Papers), which are divided into 32 subject areas. The collection at UCC includes a general index and sets on the Famine and Housing. The Famine set contains the correspondence on government relief measures – the Commissariat and Board of Public Works series; the correspondence on the state of the unions and workhouses; the reports of relief commissioners, the Board of Health report of 1852–53 and a number of significant miscellaneous documents.
IUP Series in Special Collections
Guides to IUP Series in Special Collections
Commissioners of Inquiry into the Law and Practice in Respect to the Occupation of Land in Ireland.
Devonshire Report in Special Collections
